Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Russia Changes Time Zone in Magadan

Russia Changes Time Zone in Magadan

RSS By Anne Buckle

Published 7-Apr-2016

Russia will change the time zone in Magadan Oblast. Clocks there will be turned forward 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) local time on April 24, 2016.

Magadan beach in eastern Russia.

Beach in Magadan, eastern Russia.

Russia is changing the time zone in Magadan by one hour on April 24, 2016. Image from Magadan beach.


On April 5, Russian President Vladimir Putin signed the federal law authorizing the change. It will affect Magadan Oblast in eastern Russia, including the city Evensk and the Oblast's administrative center Magadan.

Time Zones in Russia

One Hour Forward

The UTC offset in Magadan Oblast will go from UTC+10 to UTC+11, giving it the same time as the Russian cities Srednekolymsk and Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk.

Other New Time Zones

Magadan's new time zone is the latest of 7 time zone changes in Russia this year:

  • Magadan Oblast, e.g. Magadan, UTC+10 to UTC+11
  • Sakhalin Oblast, e.g. Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, UTC+10 to UTC+11
  • Zabaykalsky Krai, e.g. Chita, UTC+8 to UTC+9
  • Altai Republic, e.g. Gorno-Altaysk, UTC+6 to UTC+7
  • Altai Krai, e.g. Barnaul, UTC+6 to UTC+7
  • Ulyanovsk Oblast, e.g. Ulyanovsk, UTC+3 to UTC+4
  • Astrakhan Oblast, e.g. Astrakhan, UTC +3 to UTC +4

Historic Changes

Russia has a history of time zone changes. In 2014, the country added 2 time zones and stopped using permanent Daylight Saving Time (DST).


Current time in


Monday, November 18, 2019

Current time in


Monday, November 18, 2019

Time Zone Map With DST

Time Zone Map

You might also like

UTC – Coordinated Universal Time

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the basis for civil time today. This 24-hour time standard is kept using highly precise atomic clocks combined with the Earth's rotation. more