Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Russia Changes Several Time Zones

Russia Changes Several Time Zones

Russia is changing the time in several locations on March 27, 2016.

Main street with tram in Ulyanovsk, Russia: The birthplace of Vladimir Lenin.

Several locations in Russia, including Ulyanovsk, are changing time zones.


Clocks in several Russian areas will be turned forward 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) local time on March 27, 2016.

The time zone changes are permanent, and not Daylight Saving Time (DST) starting.

Affected Areas

6 time zone changes on March 27, 2016, are now confirmed in Russia:

  • Sakhalin Oblast, e.g. Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, UTC +10 to UTC +11
  • Ulyanovsk Oblast, e.g. Ulyanovsk, UTC +3 to UTC +4
  • Altai Republic, e.g. Gorno-Altaysk, UTC +6 to UTC +7
  • Altai Krai, e.g. Barnaul, UTC +6 to UTC +7
  • Zabaykalsky Krai, e.g. Chita, UTC +8 to UTC +9
  • Astrakhan Oblast, e.g. Astrakhan, UTC +3 to UTC +4

Another area, Magadan Oblast (UTC +10 to UTC +11), is not confirmed yet.

The time zone changes in Zabaykalsky Krai and Astrakhan Oblast were announced earlier in 2016.

Historic Changes

Russia has a history of time zone changes. In 2014, the country added 2 time zones and stopped using permanent Daylight Saving Time (DST).

Europe Starts DST

Most countries in Europe start DST during the same night as Russia changes its time zones. Europe will spring forward 1 hour at 01:00 UTC on March 27, 2016.