Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   New Time Zone in Russia's Volgograd Region

New Time Zone in Russia's Volgograd Region


Published 2-Oct-2018

The Russian State Duma has approved a bill to permanently change time zones in Volgograd Oblast. Clocks will be set forward one hour in October, 2018.

The fountain 'children's dance' at the railway station square in Volgograd, Russia - August 31, 2016. The statue is of a circle of six children dancing around a crocodile.

Railway station in Volgograd, Russia.

The clock on the Volgograd railway station building will be set forward one hour in October, 2018.

©iStockphoto.com/lena Odareeva


Although Volgograd Oblast does not observe Daylight Saving Time (DST), the region will make the local time change on October 28, 2018, the same date as Europe ends DST. The clocks go forward one hour from Moscow Standard Time (MSK) UTC+3 to UTC+4.

The People's Wish

The bill to permanently change the local time is based on the result of a referendum held in connection with the Russian presidential elections earlier this year. The bill recently passed the third reading in the State Duma, and confirmation is now mainly a formality.

Same Time as Saratov

After the change, Volgograd will be on the same local time as neighbouring Saratov, which made a similar change in December, 2016.

Russia has had several other time changes in the past years. In 2016, the time zone changed in Magadan Oblast, Tomsk Oblast, and in Novosibirsk Oblast, among others.

Current time in


Thursday, October 17, 2019


Time Zone Tools

You might also like

UTC – Coordinated Universal Time

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the basis for civil time today. This 24-hour time standard is kept using highly precise atomic clocks combined with the Earth's rotation. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more