Home   Time Zones   World   Australia
Flag for Australia

Time Zones in Australia

Multiple Time Zones

Country: Australia
Long Name: Commonwealth of Australia
Abbreviations: AU, AUS
Capital: Canberra
Time Zones: 5 (Main Country)
Total Time Zones: 8 (with dependencies)
Dial Code: +61

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Australia

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC +8AWSTAustralian Western Standard TimePerthMon, 3:40:23 am
UTC +8:45ACWSTAustralian Central Western Standard TimeEuclaMon, 4:25:23 am
UTC +9:30ACSTAustralian Central Standard TimeAdelaideMon, 5:10:23 am
UTC +10AESTAustralian Eastern Standard TimeSydneyMon, 5:40:23 am
UTC +10:30LHSTLord Howe Standard TimeLord Howe IslandMon, 6:10:23 am

How Many Time Zones Are There in Australia?

There are 6 time zones in Australia. Adding the country's 3 dependencies (see table below) brings the total to 9 time zones.

Australia's mainland states and territories are divided into 5 standard time zones. As Western Australia, Queensland, and the Northern Territory don't use Daylight Saving Time (DST), there are only 3 corresponding DST time zones.

Generalized Time Zones in Australia

Time Zone Abbreviation & NameOffsetCurrent Time
ACTAustralian Central TimeUTC +9:30 / +10:30Mon, 5:10:23 am
AETAustralian Eastern TimeUTC +10:00 / +11:00Mon, 5:40:23 am

Time zones in mainland Australia are often referred to by their generic name, without differentiating between standard time and Daylight Saving Time designations. For example, Australian Central Time (ACT) refers to both Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) and Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT), depending on which is currently in use.

Note: Local time in these time zones changes when Daylight Saving Time begins and ends.

Time Zones Not Currently Being Observed in Australia

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC +10:30ACDTAustralian Central Daylight TimeOct 6, 2024
UTC +11AEDTAustralian Eastern Daylight TimeOct 6, 2024
LHDTLord Howe Daylight TimeOct 6, 2024

The above time zones are used during other parts of the year. They will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Daylight Saving Time is used in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria.

Lord Howe Island is a part of New South Wales. It uses Lord Howe Standard Time (LHST) as standard time and Lord Howe Daylight Time (LHST) during DST.

Time Zones Being Used in Dependencies of Australia

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameDependencyTypeCurrent Time
UTC +6:30CCTCocos Islands TimeCocos IslandsTerritoryMon, 2:10:23 am
UTC +7CXTChristmas Island TimeChristmas IslandTerritoryMon, 2:40:23 am
UTC +11NFTNorfolk TimeNorfolk IslandTerritoryMon, 6:40:23 am

The Australian dependencies don't use DST.

Time Zones in Australia

Australia has a complex set of time zones, some of which have an unusual UTC offset.

Some locations, including Eucla and Broken Hill, observe time zones that are different from the state they are located in.

Australian Time Zone History

Australia standardized its civil time in 1895. Until then, each location in the country observed its own solar time. From 1895 Australia based its local times on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT), then the world's time standard.

Monday, May 27, 2024