Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Australia   Lord Howe Island
Flag for Australia

Clock Changes in Lord Howe Island, Lord Howe Island, Australia 1918

Next change:
0:30 hours Forward

Oct 6, 2024, 2:00 am

No further time changes in 1918 in Lord Howe Island
Location of Lord Howe IslandLocation

Daylight Saving Time (DST) Not Observed in Year 1918

Australia observed Lord Howe Standard Time (LHST) all year.

DST was not in use in 1918.

The previous DST change in Lord Howe Island, Australia was on March 25, 1917.

Try selecting a different year below.

Which countries & states use DST and which do not?

Other years: 1917 | 1918 | 1919 | 1920 | 1921 | 1922 | 1923

When Does DST Start and End on Lord Howe Island?

During Daylight Saving Time (DST) the clocks on Lord Howe Island are set forward 30 minutes, not the normal whole hour, from UTC+10:30 to UTC+11. DST starts on the first Sunday of October and ends the first Sunday of April, the same as mainland Australia.

Daylight Saving Time in Other Years

DST changes do not necessarily occur on the same date every year.

YearDST Start (Clock Forward)DST End (Clock Backward)
1900 — 1916DST not observed
1917Monday, January 1, 12:01 amSunday, March 25, 2:00 am
1918 — 1924DST not observed
All times are local for Lord Howe Island.

Detailed time zone and clock changes in Lord Howe Island

History of DST on Lord Howe Island

Lord Howe Island started using DST in 1971 at the same time as New South Wales. The clock was moved forward by a full hour according to the Standard Time Act 1971. In 1985, a governor’s order stated that DST on Lord Howe Island would be 30 minutes ahead of Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST), putting it on the same local time as NSW during the DST period.

DST operated nationally in Australia during World War I and for three periods during World War II.