Home   Time Zones   World   Kiribati
Flag for Kiribati

Time Zones in Kiribati

Multiple Time Zones

Country: Kiribati
Long Name: Republic of Kiribati
Abbreviations: KI, KIR
Capital: Tarawa
Time Zones: 3
Dial Code: +686

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Kiribati

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC +12GILTGilbert Island TimeTarawaTue, 8:57:56 pm
UTC +13PHOTPhoenix Island TimeKanton IslandTue, 9:57:56 pm
UTC +14LINTLine Islands TimeKiritimatiTue, 10:57:56 pm

Three Kiribati Time Zones

Kiribati has three time zones: Gilbert Island Time (GILT), Phoenix Island Time (PHOT), and Line Islands Time (LINT).

The country consists of three archipelagoes in the central Pacific Ocean that extend 2900 km (1800 mi) from the Gilbert Islands with the UTC offset +12 in the west, via the Phoenix Islands with the UTC offset +13, to the Line Islands with the UTC offset +14 in the east.

Kiribati straddles both the 180° meridian and the equator and is the only country in the world that lies in all four hemispheres.

Straddled the Dateline

The Republic of Kiribati was formed in 1979 when the Gilbert Islands gained independence from Great Britain. At that time, the eastern Phoenix and Line Islands were on the other side of the International Date Line, resulting in a 23-hour difference between them and the western Gilbert Islands.

Skipped a Day

In 1994, Kiribati decided to move the International Date Line, and they did it by skipping January 1, 1995 in the country's two eastern island groups. By adding 24 hours to the time zones on the Phoenix and Line Islands, they effectively made a dent in the dateline, moving it all the way to the 150° east longitude.

By moving the dateline, Kiribati became the first country to enter the third millennium and have ever since been the first country to enter the New Year.

Tuesday, November 28, 2023