Home   Time Zones   World   Nepal
Flag for Nepal

Time Zone in Nepal

6:27:41 am

Tuesday, September 26, 2023

Country: Nepal
Long Name: Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal
Abbreviations: NP, NPL
Capital: Kathmandu
Time Zones: 1
Dial Code: +977

Time Zone Currently Being Used in Nepal

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC +5:45NPTNepal Time KathmanduTue, 6:27:41 am

Nepal Time Zone

Nepal uses Nepal Time (NPT). Standard time is used all year, and the country has never used Daylight Saving Time (DST).

Unlike most countries, Nepal, with its UTC offset of +5:45, has a 45-minute offset instead of the usual full-hour offset: Clocks in Nepal are 5 hours and 45 minutes ahead of UTC. The time difference from its neighboring country, India, is only 15 minutes.

15 Minute Change

From 1920 through 1955, Nepal followed India's UTC offset of +5:30. However, when Indian Standard Time (IST) was introduced after India's independence in 1956, Nepal decided to change its clocks by 15 minutes to Nepal Time.

The time zone meridian was set to 86° east longitude—the mean solar time of the mountain Gauri Sankar, which is about 100 km (62 mi) from Nepal's capital Kathmandu.

Nepal observes Nepal Time all year. There are no Daylight Saving Time clock changes.

Tuesday, September 26, 2023