Home   Time Zones   World   USA   Arizona
Flag for Arizona

Time Zones in Arizona, United States

9:58:09 am *

Thursday, July 18, 2024

* Most of Arizona

State: Arizona
Abbreviation: AZ
State Capital: Phoenix
Country: United States
Time Zones: 2

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Arizona

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC -7MSTMountain Standard TimePhoenixThu, 9:58:09 am
UTC -6MDTMountain Daylight TimeTuba CityThu, 10:58:09 am

How Many AZ Time Zones Are There?

Most of Arizona observes Mountain Standard Time (MST) all year. However, because the Navajo Nation observes Daylight Saving Time (DST), the corresponding DST designation, Mountain Daylight Time (MDT) is also listed here.

There is a common misconception that Arizona is on Pacific Daylight Time (PDT) during the summer and on Mountain Standard Time (MST) during the winter. Because MST and PDT have the same UTC offset of minus 7 hours (UTC-7), Arizona has the same local time as neighboring states California and Nevada during the summer season.

Mountain Time in Arizona

Time Zone Abbreviation & NameOffsetCurrent Time
MTMountain TimeUTC -7:00 / -6:00Thu, 10:58:09 am

The time zones in the contiguous United States are often referred to by their generic name, without making a difference between standard time and DST designations. For example, Mountain Time (MT) refers to Mountain Standard Time (MST) or Mountain Daylight Time (MDT), depending on which is currently in use.

Note: Local time in these time zones changes when Daylight Saving Time begins and ends.

Thursday, July 18, 2024