Home   Time Zones   World   USA   South Dakota
Flag for South Dakota

Time Zones in South Dakota, United States

Multiple Time Zones

State: South Dakota
Abbreviation: SD
State Capital: Pierre
Country: United States
Time Zones: 2

Time Zones Currently Being Used in South Dakota

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC -7MSTMountain Standard TimeRapid CityFri, 6:31:39 am
UTC -6CSTCentral Standard TimeSioux FallsFri, 7:31:39 am

Generalized Time Zones in South Dakota

Time Zone Abbreviation & NameOffsetCurrent Time
MTMountain TimeUTC -7:00 / -6:00Fri, 6:31:39 am
CTCentral TimeUTC -6:00 / -5:00Fri, 7:31:39 am

Note: Local time in these time zones changes when Daylight Saving Time begins and ends.

Time Zones Not Currently Being Observed in South Dakota

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC -6MDTMountain Daylight TimeMar 12, 2023
UTC -5CDTCentral Daylight TimeMar 12, 2023

The above time zones are used during other parts of the year. They will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

South Dakota
Friday, December 9, 2022