Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   AU & NZ Start DST 2019

DST Begins in Australia and New Zealand


Published 16-Sep-2019

Daylight Saving Time (DST) starts in New Zealand on September 29, 2019. In many parts of Australia, the clocks are set forward on October 6, 2019.

Time Zones in Australia and New Zealand.

DST in Australia and New Zealand.

Areas with diagonal stripes have clock changes, those without stripes do not.

When Is the Time Change?

  • New Zealand: DST starts on September 29, 2019. Clocks are set forward by 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) NZST to 03:00 (3 am) NZDT.
  • Australia: In all areas with time changes, clocks are set forward by 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) local time on October 6, 2019.

Australia: Where Do Clocks Change?

Only some parts of Australia have yearly clock changes. They are:

Northern and western parts of Australia and Australian dependencies do not change their clocks. These include:

On Lord Howe Island, clocks are set forward by 30 minutes instead of 1 hour.

Norfolk Island Introduces DST

This year, residents of Norfolk Island will set their clocks forward by 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) on October 6, 2019.

Except for a short period in 1974-1975, the island has not observed DST in the past.

New Zealand Clock Change

All areas of New Zealand observe clock changes, including Auckland, Christchurch, and Wellington. DST in New Zealand starts one week earlier than in Australia.

The Chatham Islands, in New Zealand's second time zone, are 45 minutes ahead of the two main islands, so clocks there are turned from 02:45 (2:45 am) to 03:45 (3:45 am) local time. The New Zealand dependency of Tokelau does not use DST.

Samoa Also Starts DST

Samoa starts DST on the same date as New Zealand, on September 29, 2019. Clocks there are set forward from 03:00 (3 am) to 04:00 (4 am) local time.

American Samoa does not have clock changes.

When Does DST End Again?

DST in both Australia and New Zealand ends on April 5, 2020 when clocks fall back to standard time.

In Australia, DST runs from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April. New Zealand observes DST from the last Sunday in September to the first Sunday in April.


Current time in


Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Current time in


Tuesday, October 15, 2019

Current time in


Tuesday, October 15, 2019

You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Calendar with 12 months

12 Months of the Year

The 12 months of the year are linked to the Moon's orbit around Earth. Why are there 12 months? What do the month names mean? more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more