Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Time Zone Change in Astrakhan, Russia

Russia Changes Time Zone in Astrakhan


Published 17-Feb-2016

Russia will change the time zone of Astrakhan Oblast. Clocks there will be turned forward 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) on March 27, 2016.

Astrakhan Kremlin is a fortress in the city Astrakhan in southern Russia.

Astrakhan Kremlin in southern Russia.

Astrakhan Kremlin is a border fortress in Astrakhan, southern Russia. The clocks in Astrakhan Oblast will be moved forward by 1 hour on March 27, 2016.


The change will affect Astrakhan Oblast in southern Russia, including the Oblast's administrative center Astrakhan.

Time Zones in Russia

New Time Zone Name

Russian President Vladimir Putin signed a federal law changing the time zone in Astrakhan Oblast on February 15, 2016.

The change moves Astrakhan from Moscow Standard Time (MST) to MSK +1.

The UTC offset changes from UTC +3 to UTC +4, giving Astrakhan the same time as the Russian cities Samara and Izhevsk, as well as Azerbaijan.

Change in Zabaykalsky Krai

A federal law for time zone change in Zabaykalsky Krai in Siberia has also been signed. The change there is also scheduled on March 27, 2016.

Proposed Time Zone Changes

There are several more regions in Russia that have submitted draft bills proposing changes to their time zones. These proposals still need to go through the stages of the legislative process.

It is uncertain if and when the time zones will be changed:

  • Sakhalin Oblast, UTC +10 to UTC +11
  • Ulyanovsk Oblast, UTC +3 to UTC +4
  • Altai Republic, UTC +6 to UTC +7
  • Altai Krai, UTC +6 to UTC +7
  • Magadan Oblast, UTC +10 to UTC +11

Russia has a history of time zone changes. Recently the country added two new time zones and stopped using Daylight Saving Time (DST).


Current time in


Monday, March 25, 2019

Current time in


Monday, March 25, 2019

Time Zone Map With DST

Time Zone Map

You might also like

When Is the Equinox?

When Is the Equinox?

The Vernal (Spring) Equinox in the Northern Hemisphere is the Autumnal (Fall) Equinox in the Southern Hemisphere. more

Try the Night Sky Map!

Try the Night Sky Map!

Find and track planets in the sky with our new Interactive Night Sky Map. Point your mobile at the sky to follow an object, or play around with the timeline. more

UTC – Coordinated Universal Time

Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) is the basis for civil time today. This 24-hour time standard is kept using highly precise atomic clocks combined with the Earth's rotation. more