Home   Sun & Moon   Eclipses   Canada   Oct 28, 2023
Flag for Canada

Oct 28, 2023 – Partial Lunar Eclipse in Canada

Partial Eclipse Visible
Oct 28, 2023
Canada
Global Event: Partial Lunar Eclipse
Local Type: Partial Lunar Eclipse, in Canada
Start of Penumbral: Sat, Oct 28, 2023 at 1:01 pm CDT
Start of Partial: Sat, Oct 28, 2023 at 3:35 pm EDT
End of Partial: Sat, Oct 28, 2023 at 4:52 pm EDT
End of Penumbral: Sat, Oct 28, 2023 at 5:26 pm EST

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

Location

Oct 28, 2023 – Partial Lunar Eclipse – Canada

Live Eclipse Animation will start at:
Live Eclipse Animation has ended.
You are using an outdated browser, to view the animation please update or switch to a modern browser. Alternatively you can view the old animation by clicking here.

This animation shows the eclipse near Hall Beach in Canada.

This table provides the eclipse visibility and times for each province/territory.

Provinces and territories in Canada Where the Eclipse Is Visible

Province/territoryTypeStart of PenumbralEnd of Penumbral
Manitoba
Penumbral Lunar Eclipse
6:09 pm EDT5:26 pm CDT
New Brunswick
Penumbral Lunar Eclipse
5:56 pm ADT7:26 pm ADT
Newfoundland and Labrador
Partial Lunar Eclipse
5:36 pm NDT7:26 pm ADT
Northwest Territories
Partial Lunar Eclipse
12:01 pm MDT4:26 pm MDT
Nova Scotia
Partial Lunar Eclipse
5:41 pm ADT7:26 pm ADT
Nunavut
Partial Lunar Eclipse
2:01 pm EDT5:26 pm CDT
Ontario
Penumbral Lunar Eclipse
5:42 pm EDT6:26 pm EDT
Prince Edward Island
Partial Lunar Eclipse
5:50 pm ADT7:26 pm ADT
Quebec
Partial Lunar Eclipse
4:16 pm EDT6:26 pm EDT

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

This table provides the eclipse visibility and times for each city,

Selection of Cities in Canada Where the Eclipse Is Visible

LocationObscurationStartMaxEndAvg. Cloud CoverWeather
Halifax
0.00%
3:01 pm6:03 pm7:26 pm ADT
71 %
Iqaluit
0.00%
2:01 pm4:20 pm6:26 pm EDT
87 %
Montréal
0.00%
2:01 pm5:42 pm6:26 pm EDT
73 %
Ottawa
0.00%
2:01 pm5:51 pm6:26 pm EDT
78 %
Québec
0.00%
2:01 pm5:30 pm6:26 pm EDT
73 %
St. John's
0.00%
3:31 pm5:44 pm7:56 pm NDT
78 %
Toronto
0.00%
2:01 pm6:10 pm6:26 pm EDT
85 %

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

Can't find your city? Use our interactive map >

Eclipses Visible in Canada

Eclipse Visibility from CanadaVisibility Worldwide
Mar 25, 2024 Penumbral Lunar EclipsePenumbral Lunar Eclipse
Apr 8, 2024 Total Solar EclipseTotal Solar Eclipse
Sep 17–18, 2024 Partial Lunar EclipsePartial Lunar Eclipse
Mar 13–14, 2025 Total Lunar EclipseTotal Lunar Eclipse
Mar 29, 2025 Partial Solar EclipsePartial Solar Eclipse

Note: Click on the date link for details in Canada, or the path map image for global details. Next visible eclipse is highlighted.

Next total solar eclipse in Canada

Other eclipses visible in Canada

Other eclipses worldwide