Home   Sun & Moon   Eclipses   Canada   Sep 18, 2024
Flag for Canada

Sep 17–18, 2024 – Partial Lunar Eclipse in Canada

Partial Eclipse Visible
Sep 17–18, 2024
Canada
Global Event: Partial Lunar Eclipse
Local Type: Partial Lunar Eclipse, in Canada
Start of Penumbral: Tue, Sep 17, 2024 at 8:41 pm EDT
Start of Partial: Tue, Sep 17, 2024 at 9:12 pm CDT
End of Partial: Tue, Sep 17, 2024 at 10:15 pm CDT
End of Penumbral: Tue, Sep 17, 2024 at 11:47 pm CDT

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

Location

Sep 17–18, 2024 – Partial Lunar Eclipse – Canada

Live Eclipse Animation will start at:
Live Eclipse Animation has ended.
You are using an outdated browser, to view the animation please update or switch to a modern browser. Alternatively you can view the old animation by clicking here.

This animation shows the eclipse near Arviat in Canada.

This table provides the eclipse visibility and times for each province/territory.

Provinces and territories in Canada Where the Eclipse Is Visible

Province/territoryTypeStart of PenumbralEnd of Penumbral
Alberta
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:28 pm MDT10:47 pm MDT
British Columbia
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:44 pm MDT9:47 pm PDT
Manitoba
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
New Brunswick
Partial Lunar Eclipse
9:41 pm ADT1:47 am ADT
Newfoundland and Labrador
Partial Lunar Eclipse
9:41 pm ADT1:47 am ADT
Northwest Territories
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:03 pm CDT10:47 pm MDT
Nova Scotia
Partial Lunar Eclipse
9:41 pm ADT1:47 am ADT
Nunavut
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT11:47 pm CDT
Ontario
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Prince Edward Island
Partial Lunar Eclipse
9:41 pm ADT1:47 am ADT
Quebec
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Saskatchewan
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:53 pm CDT10:47 pm CST
Yukon
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:30 pm MST9:47 pm MST

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

This table provides the eclipse visibility and times for each city,

Selection of Cities in Canada Where the Eclipse Is Visible

LocationObscurationStartMaxEndAvg. Cloud Cover
Aklavik
0.00%
6:41 pm9:29 pm10:47 pm MDT
78 %
Calgary
0.00%
6:41 pm8:44 pm10:47 pm MDT
58 %
Edmonton
0.00%
6:41 pm8:44 pm10:47 pm MDT
60 %
Montréal
0.00%
8:41 pm10:44 pm12:47 am EDT
50 %
Ottawa
0.00%
8:41 pm10:44 pm12:47 am EDT
49 %
Québec
0.00%
8:41 pm10:44 pm12:47 am EDT
59 %
St. John's
0.00%
10:11 pm12:14 am2:17 am NDT
63 %

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

Can't find your city? Use our interactive map >

Eclipses Visible in Canada

Eclipse Visibility from CanadaVisibility Worldwide
Mar 25, 2024 Penumbral Lunar EclipsePenumbral Lunar Eclipse
Apr 8, 2024 Total Solar EclipseTotal Solar Eclipse
Sep 17–18, 2024 Partial Lunar EclipsePartial Lunar Eclipse
Mar 13–14, 2025 Total Lunar EclipseTotal Lunar Eclipse
Mar 29, 2025 Partial Solar EclipsePartial Solar Eclipse

Note: Click on the date link for details in Canada, or the path map image for global details. Next visible eclipse is highlighted.

Next total solar eclipse in Canada

Other eclipses visible in Canada

Other eclipses worldwide