Home   Time Zones   World   Canada
Flag for Canada

Time Zones in Canada

Multiple Time Zones

Country: Canada
Abbreviations: CA, CAN
Capital: Ottawa
Time Zones: 6
Dial Code: +1

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Canada

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC -8PSTPacific Standard TimeVancouverTue, 10:55:36 pm
UTC -7MSTMountain Standard TimeEdmontonTue, 11:55:36 pm
UTC -6CSTCentral Standard TimeWinnipegWed, 12:55:36 am
UTC -5ESTEastern Standard TimeTorontoWed, 1:55:36 am
UTC -4ASTAtlantic Standard TimeHalifaxWed, 2:55:36 am
UTC -3:30NSTNewfoundland Standard TimeSt. John'sWed, 3:25:36 am

How Many Time Zones Are There in Canada?

Canada has 6 standard time zones with 6 corresponding Daylight Saving Time (DST) time zones.

Generalized Time Zones in Canada

Time Zone Abbreviation & NameOffsetCurrent Time
PTPacific TimeUTC -8:00 / -7:00Tue, 10:55:36 pm
MTMountain TimeUTC -7:00 / -6:00Tue, 11:55:36 pm
CTCentral TimeUTC -6:00 / -5:00Wed, 12:55:36 am
ETEastern TimeUTC -5:00 / -4:00Wed, 1:55:36 am
ATAtlantic TimeUTC -4:00 / -3:00Wed, 2:55:36 am

Like in the US, Canada's time zones are often referred to by their generic name, without making a difference between standard time and Daylight Saving Time designations. For example, Central Time (CT) refers to Central Standard Time (CST) or Central Daylight Time (CDT), depending on which is currently in use.

Note: Local time in these time zones changes when Daylight Saving Time begins and ends.

Time Zones Not Currently Being Observed in Canada

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC -7PDTPacific Daylight TimeMar 10, 2024
UTC -6MDTMountain Daylight TimeMar 10, 2024
UTC -5CDTCentral Daylight TimeMar 10, 2024
UTC -4EDTEastern Daylight TimeMar 10, 2024
UTC -3ADTAtlantic Daylight TimeMar 10, 2024
UTC -2:30NDTNewfoundland Daylight TimeMar 10, 2024

The above time zones are used during other parts of the year. They will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Not all areas in Canada observe DST. They include Yukon, most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec east of 63° westerly longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia.

Saskatchewan Time Zone

Most of Saskatchewan observes Central Standard Time (CST) all year round, with no Daylight Saving Time (DST). However, some locations on the province borders use different time zones, including Lloydminster, Creighton, and Denare Beach.

Newfoundland's Time Zone

Newfoundland, in Canada's most easterly province Newfoundland and Labrador, follows its own time zone. The standard time is Newfoundland Standard Time (NST), which is UTC-3:30. Newfoundland Daylight Time (NDT), the island's Daylight Saving Time, is UTC-2:30.

The reason for the unique 30-minute time zone is twofold: In terms of solar mean time, Newfoundland is located almost exactly 3.5 hours from Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) which is based on the prime meridian (0° longitude). The second reason is that Newfoundland was a separate dominion when time zones were established in Canada.

Wednesday, February 28, 2024