Home   Sun, Moon & Space   Eclipses   Canada   Mar 14, 2025
Flag for Canada

Mar 13–14, 2025 – Total Lunar Eclipse in Canada

Total Eclipse Visible
Mar 13–14, 2025
Canada
Global Event: Total Lunar Eclipse
Local Type: Total Lunar Eclipse, in Canada
Start of Penumbral: Thu, Mar 13, 2025 at 10:57 pm CDT
Start of Totality: Fri, Mar 14, 2025 at 1:26 am CDT
End of Totality: Fri, Mar 14, 2025 at 2:31 am CDT
End of Penumbral: Fri, Mar 14, 2025 at 5:00 am CDT

All times shown on this page are local time.

Location

Mar 13–14, 2025 – Total Lunar Eclipse – Canada

Live Eclipse Animation will start at:
Live Eclipse Animation has ended.
You are using an outdated browser, to view the animation please update or switch to a modern browser. Alternatively you can view the old animation by clicking here.

This animation shows the eclipse near Arviat in Canada.

This table provides the eclipse visibility and times for each province/territory.

Provinces and territories in Canada Where the Eclipse Is Visible

Province/territoryTypeStart of PenumbralStart of TotalityEnd of TotalityEnd of Penumbral
Alberta
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm MDT12:26 am MDT1:31 am MDT4:00 am MDT
British Columbia
Total Lunar Eclipse
8:57 pm PDT11:26 pm PDT12:31 am PDT3:00 am PDT
Manitoba
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
New Brunswick
Total Lunar Eclipse
12:57 am ADT3:26 am ADT4:31 am ADT7:00 am ADT
Newfoundland and Labrador
Total Lunar Eclipse
12:57 am ADT3:26 am ADT4:31 am ADT7:00 am ADT
Northwest Territories
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm MDT12:26 am MDT1:31 am MDT4:00 am MDT
Nova Scotia
Total Lunar Eclipse
12:57 am ADT3:26 am ADT4:31 am ADT7:00 am ADT
Nunavut
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Ontario
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Prince Edward Island
Total Lunar Eclipse
12:57 am ADT3:26 am ADT4:31 am ADT7:00 am ADT
Quebec
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Saskatchewan
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm CST12:26 am CST1:31 am CST4:00 am CST
Yukon
Total Lunar Eclipse
8:57 pm MST11:26 pm MST12:31 am MST3:00 am MST

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

Selection of Cities in Canada Where the Totality Is Visible

LocationObscurationStartMaxEndTotality DurationAvg. Cloud Cover
Aklavik, Northwest Territories
100.00%
9:57 pm12:58 am4:00 am MDT3h, 38m, 12s
75 %
Calgary, Alberta
100.00%
9:57 pm12:58 am4:00 am MDT3h, 38m, 12s
80 %
Edmonton, Alberta
100.00%
9:57 pm12:58 am4:00 am MDT3h, 38m, 12s
75 %
Montréal, Quebec
100.00%
11:57 pm2:58 am6:00 am EDT3h, 38m, 12s
76 %
St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador
100.00%
1:27 am4:28 am7:30 am NDT3h, 38m, 12s
85 %

Actual weather forecasts are available from 14 days before the eclipse. Average cloud coverage is based on data since 2000.

Can't find your city? Use our interactive map >

Eclipses Visible in Canada

Eclipse Visibility from CanadaVisibility Worldwide
Mar 25, 2024 Penumbral Lunar EclipsePenumbral Lunar Eclipse
Apr 8, 2024 Total Solar EclipseTotal Solar Eclipse
Sep 17–18, 2024 Partial Lunar EclipsePartial Lunar Eclipse
Mar 13–14, 2025 Total Lunar EclipseTotal Lunar Eclipse
Mar 29, 2025 Partial Solar EclipsePartial Solar Eclipse

Note: Click on the date link for details in Canada, or the path map image for global details. Next visible eclipse is highlighted.

Next total solar eclipse in Canada

Other eclipses visible in Canada

Other eclipses worldwide