Home   Sun & Moon   Eclipses   United States   Sep 18, 2024
Flag for United States

Sep 17–18, 2024 – Partial Lunar Eclipse in the United States

Partial Eclipse Visible
Sep 17–18, 2024
United States
Global Event: Partial Lunar Eclipse
Local Type: Partial Lunar Eclipse, in United States
Start of Penumbral: Tue, Sep 17, 2024 at 7:41 pm CDT
Start of Partial: Tue, Sep 17, 2024 at 9:12 pm CDT
End of Partial: Tue, Sep 17, 2024 at 10:15 pm CDT
End of Penumbral: Tue, Sep 17, 2024 at 10:47 pm MDT

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

Location

Sep 17–18, 2024 – Partial Lunar Eclipse – United States

Live Eclipse Animation will start at:
Live Eclipse Animation has ended.
You are using an outdated browser, to view the animation please update or switch to a modern browser. Alternatively you can view the old animation by clicking here.

This animation shows the eclipse near Hays in the United States.

This table provides the eclipse visibility and times for each state.

States in the United States Where the Eclipse Is Visible

StateTypeStart of PenumbralEnd of Penumbral
Alabama
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Alaska
Partial Lunar Eclipse
6:52 pm AKDT8:47 pm AKDT
Arizona
Partial Lunar Eclipse
6:17 pm MST9:47 pm MST
Arkansas
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
California
Partial Lunar Eclipse
6:39 pm PDT9:47 pm PDT
Colorado
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:50 pm CDT10:47 pm MDT
Connecticut
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Delaware
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
District of Columbia
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Florida
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Georgia
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Hawaii
Penumbral Lunar Eclipse
6:22 pm HST6:47 pm HST
Idaho
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:29 pm MDT10:47 pm MDT
Illinois
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Indiana
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Iowa
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Kansas
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Kentucky
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Louisiana
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Maine
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Maryland
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Massachusetts
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Michigan
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Minnesota
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Mississippi
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Missouri
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Montana
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:02 pm MDT10:47 pm MDT
Nebraska
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Nevada
Partial Lunar Eclipse
6:39 pm PDT9:47 pm PDT
New Hampshire
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
New Jersey
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
New Mexico
Partial Lunar Eclipse
6:53 pm MDT10:47 pm MDT
New York
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
North Carolina
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
North Dakota
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Ohio
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Oklahoma
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Oregon
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:52 pm MDT9:47 pm PDT
Pennsylvania
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Rhode Island
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
South Carolina
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
South Dakota
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Tennessee
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Texas
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Utah
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:19 pm MDT10:47 pm MDT
Vermont
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Virginia
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Washington
Partial Lunar Eclipse
6:54 pm PDT9:47 pm PDT
West Virginia
Partial Lunar Eclipse
8:41 pm EDT12:47 am EDT
Wisconsin
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:41 pm CDT11:47 pm CDT
Wyoming
Partial Lunar Eclipse
7:00 pm MDT10:47 pm MDT

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

This table provides the eclipse visibility and times for each city,

Selection of Cities in the United States Where the Eclipse Is Visible

LocationObscurationStartMaxEndAvg. Cloud Cover
Albany
0.00%
8:41 pm10:44 pm12:47 am EDT
46 %
Anchorage
0.00%
4:41 pm8:23 pm8:47 pm AKDT
74 %
Atlanta
0.00%
8:41 pm10:44 pm12:47 am EDT
59 %
Augusta
0.00%
8:41 pm10:44 pm12:47 am EDT
39 %
Austin
0.00%
7:41 pm9:44 pm11:47 pm CDT
62 %
Baton Rouge
0.00%
7:41 pm9:44 pm11:47 pm CDT
54 %
Bismarck
0.00%
7:41 pm9:44 pm11:47 pm CDT
52 %

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

Can't find your city? Use our interactive map >

Eclipses Visible in the United States

Eclipse Visibility from the United StatesVisibility Worldwide
Mar 25, 2024 Penumbral Lunar EclipsePenumbral Lunar Eclipse
Apr 8, 2024 Total Solar EclipseTotal Solar Eclipse
Sep 17–18, 2024 Partial Lunar EclipsePartial Lunar Eclipse
Oct 2, 2024 Partial Solar EclipseAnnular Solar Eclipse
Mar 13–14, 2025 Total Lunar EclipseTotal Lunar Eclipse

Note: Click on the date link for details in the United States, or the path map image for global details. Next visible eclipse is highlighted.

Next total solar eclipse in the United States

Other eclipses visible in the United States

Other eclipses worldwide