Home   News   Time Zone News   Oz & Kiwi DST End 2018

Australia & New Zealand End DST on April 1, 2018

People in New Zealand and parts of Australia will get an additional hour of sleep as Daylight Saving Time (DST) ends on Sunday, April 1, 2018.

Time Zones in Australia and New Zealand.

DST ends on April 1, 2018.


Clocks in most areas will be set back 1 hour to standard time from 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am) local time.

April 1 Is No Joke

The end of DST in this part of the world happens to fall on April Fool's Day which is also Easter Sunday this year.

Australia's Clock Changes

In Australia, DST is observed in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria. Clocks in these areas will be turned back 1 hour.

On Lord Howe Island, which lies in a rare half-hour time zone, clocks move back 30 minutes instead of 1 hour.

No DST in Parts of Australia

Northern and western parts of Australia do not use DST, so the clocks will not change in Queensland, the Northern Territory, and Western Australia.

The same is the case in the Australian dependencies Christmas Island, Cocos Island, and Norfolk Island.

New Zealand Ends DST

All of New Zealand, including Auckland, Christchurch, and Wellington, use DST. Clocks will be set back by 1 hour at 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am) local time.

The Chatham Islands, which are in New Zealand's 2nd time zone, will change from 03:45 (3:45 am) to 02:45 (2:45 am) local time.

The New Zealand dependency Tokelau does not use DST.

Samoa Ends DST

Another country ending the DST period at the same time is Samoa, where clocks will be turned back from 04:00 (4 am) to 03:00 (3 am) local time.

When Will DST Start Again?

Daylight Saving Time in Australia runs from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April each year. DST will start again on October 7, 2018.

In New Zealand, DST starts on September 30, 2018. Kiwis observe DST from the last Sunday in September to the first Sunday in April.