Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   DST US & Canada 2018

USA & Canada Start DST on March 11, 2018


Published 5-Mar-2018

Most of the United States, Canada, and Mexico's northern border cities start Daylight Saving Time (DST) on Sunday, March 11, 2018.

A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.

US & Canada DST Map: The striped areas start DST on Sunday, March 11, 2018.

US & Canada DST Map: The striped areas start DST on Sunday, March 11, 2018. Cloks are set 1 hour forward from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) local time when DST starts.


People in areas which observe DST set the clocks forward 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am), local time.

Standard time will resume on Sunday, November 4, 2018.

Brighter Afternoons

In local time, sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour later than the day before resulting in more daylight in the afternoon.

Most of the US Uses DST

Almost all of the United States observe DST. Hawaii and most of Arizona are the only 2 US states that do not change their clocks.

None of the US dependencies observe DST. This includes American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, the US Minor Outlying Islands, and the US Virgin Islands.

DST in Canada

In Canada, DST begins at the same time as in the US.

Areas that don't use DST include most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec east of 63° westerly longitude (e.g., Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia.

American Proposals to Abolish DST

Political proposals to abolish the yearly time change regularly appear on the agenda, and several DST bills are currently moving up the legislative ladder in the US.

After Massachusetts studied the effect of DST, several states in New England are considering abolishing DST and permanently changing the time zone. Also, Florida has a bill dubbed the “Sunshine Protection Act” moving up in the state legislature.

From experience, these bills normally don't make it all the way to the state Senate, and they are usually voted down at some point in the legislative process. We monitor the political processes closely on timeanddate.com.

Canada and the EU discuss DST

In Canada, there have been political discussions about DST in both Alberta and British Columbia. Neither bills come to fruition.

In February, the European Parliament voted to re-evaluate DST in Europe urging the EU Commission to consider putting an end to setting the clocks back and forward 1 hour.

Mexico DST Divided

A few northern Mexican border towns, such as Tijuana and Juárez (Ciudad Juárez), start DST on March 11 along with the US and Canada.

However, most of Mexico starts DST on Sunday, April 1, 2018. A few Mexican cities, like Hermosillo and Cancun, do not observe DST at all.

Other areas starting DST on March 11 are Cuba, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, and Thule Air Base in Greenland.

Set Clocks Back or Ahead?

To remember which way to set your watch, keep in mind one of these sayings: “spring forward, fall back” or “spring ahead, fall behind.” The clocks spring ahead (= losing 1 hour) in the spring when DST starts and fall behind 1 hour (= gaining 1 hour) when DST ends in the fall.


Current time in
Los Angeles


Friday, October 18, 2019

Current time in


Friday, October 18, 2019

Current time in


Friday, October 18, 2019

Current time in
Washington DC


Friday, October 18, 2019

You might also like

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Calendar with 12 months

12 Months of the Year

The 12 months of the year are linked to the Moon's orbit around Earth. Why are there 12 months? What do the month names mean? more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more