Flag for Mexico

Time Change 1931 in Mexico

Next change:
1 hour Back

Nov 7, 2021, 2:00 am

In small parts of Mexico

Country: Mexico
Long Name: United Mexican States
Abbreviations: MX, MEX
Capital: Mexico City
Time Zones: 3
Dial Code: +52

Note: Only some parts of Mexico used DST in 1931.

Apr 1

Forward 1 hour

Apr 1, 1931 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Wednesday, April 1, 1931, 12:00:00 midnight clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Wednesday, April 1, 1931, 1:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Apr 1, 1931 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Sep 30

Back 1 hour

Sep 30, 1931 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Wednesday, September 30, 1931, 12:00:00 midnight clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Tuesday, September 29, 1931, 11:00:00 pm local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Sep 30, 1931 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

Other years: 1928 | 1929 | 1930 | 1931 | 1932 | 1933 | 1934 | 2021

When Does DST Start and End in Mexico?

In most of Mexico, including its capital Mexico City, Daylight Saving Time (DST) runs from the 1st Sunday of April to the last Sunday of October. However, there are several exceptions:

  • The state of Sonora does not change its clocks. The rationale is to stay in sync with the neighboring US state of Arizona, where Mountain Standard Time (MST) is observed all year. In the map below, Sonora is the yellow area on the left.
  • Quintana Roo has opted out of following the country's DST regime. Following the establishment of its own time zone in 2015, Mexico's easternmost state is observing EST year-round. In the map below, Quintana Roo is the yellow area on the right.
  • The state of Baja California and many other locations close to the country's northern border follow the DST schedule of the United States. This includes cities like Tijuana, Ciudad Juárez, and Ojinaga (please see cities marked “north” in the table below). Here, the DST period starts on the 2nd Sunday in March and ends on the 1st Sunday in November.

The states of Sonora (yellow area on the left) and Quintana Roo (yellow area on the right) do not observe DST.

DST in States and Federal Districts in Mexico in 1931 (32 in total, 1 where all observe DST, 31 which don't observe DST)

AguascalientesNo DSTGuerreroNo DSTQuintana RooNo DST
Baja CaliforniaApr 1 - Sep 30HidalgoNo DSTSan Luis PotosíNo DST
Baja California SurNo DSTJaliscoNo DSTSinaloaNo DST
CampecheNo DSTMichoacánNo DSTSonoraNo DST
ChiapasNo DSTMorelosNo DSTTabascoNo DST
ChihuahuaNo DSTMéxicoNo DSTTamaulipasNo DST
Ciudad de MéxicoNo DSTNayaritNo DSTTlaxcalaNo DST
Coahuila de ZaragozaNo DSTNuevo LeónNo DSTVeracruzNo DST
ColimaNo DSTOaxacaNo DSTYucatánNo DST
DurangoNo DSTPueblaNo DSTZacatecasNo DST
GuanajuatoNo DSTQuerétaroNo DST

Daylight Saving Time History in Mexico

  • Mexico first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1931.
  • Mexico has observed DST for 64 years between 1931 and 2021 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1975.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

Baja California Pioneered DST

The state of Baja California introduced seasonal clock changes in 1931, remaining the only area in Mexico with a DST schedule for 65 years. In the rest of the country, DST was introduced in 1996.