Flag for Mexico

Time Change 2024 in Mexico

Next change:
1 hour Back

Nov 3, 2024, 2:00 am

In small parts of Mexico

Country: Mexico
Long Name: United Mexican States
Abbreviations: MX, MEX
Capital: Mexico City
Time Zones: 3
Dial Code: +52

Note: Only some parts of Mexico use DST in 2024.

Mar 10

Forward 1 hour

Mar 10, 2024 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, March 10, 2024, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, March 10, 2024, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Mar 10, 2024 than the day before. There was more light in the evening and less light in the morning.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Nov 3

Back 1 hour

Nov 3, 2024 - Daylight Saving Time Ends

When local daylight time is about to reach
Sunday, November 3, 2024, 2:00:00 am clocks are turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, November 3, 2024, 1:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour earlier on Nov 3, 2024 than the day before. There will be more light in the morning and less light in the evening.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

Other years: 2021 | 2022 | 2023 | 2024 | 2025 | 2026 | 2027

When Does DST Start and End in Mexico?

Most of Mexico, including its capital Mexico City, doesn't use Daylight Saving Time (DST). However, some exceptions exist for the locations that follow the DST schedule of the United States:

Which States and Federal Districts use Daylight Saving Time in 2024

Areas in Mexico using DST in 2024
Areas in Mexico on standard time all of 2024

DST in States and Federal Districts in Mexico
(32 in total, 1 where all observe DST, 27 which don't observe DST, 4 with parts on DST)

AguascalientesNo DSTGuanajuatoNo DSTQuerétaroNo DST
Baja CaliforniaMar 10 – Nov 3GuerreroNo DSTQuintana RooNo DST
Baja California SurNo DSTHidalgoNo DSTSan Luis PotosíNo DST
CampecheNo DSTJaliscoNo DSTSinaloaNo DST
ChiapasNo DSTMichoacánNo DSTSonoraNo DST
Chihuahua (north)Mar 10 – Nov 3MorelosNo DSTTabascoNo DST
ChihuahuaNo DSTMéxicoNo DSTTamaulipas (north)Mar 10 – Nov 3
Ciudad de MéxicoNo DSTNayaritNo DSTTamaulipasNo DST
Coahuila de Zaragoza (north)Mar 10 – Nov 3Nuevo León (north)Mar 10 – Nov 3TlaxcalaNo DST
Coahuila de ZaragozaNo DSTNuevo LeónNo DSTVeracruzNo DST
ColimaNo DSTOaxacaNo DSTYucatánNo DST
DurangoNo DSTPueblaNo DSTZacatecasNo DST

Daylight Saving Time History in Mexico

  • Mexico first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1931.
  • Mexico has observed DST for 67 years between 1931 and 2024 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1975.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

Baja California Pioneered DST

The state of Baja California introduced seasonal clock changes in 1931, remaining the only area in Mexico with a DST schedule for 65 years.

In the rest of the country, DST was introduced in 1996 and removed in 2022.