Home   Time Zones   World   Canada   Saskatchewan
Flag for Saskatchewan

Time Zones in Saskatchewan, Canada

Multiple Time Zones

Province: Saskatchewan
Abbreviation: SK
Provincial Capital: Regina
Country: Canada
Time Zones: 2

Time Zones Currently Being Used in Saskatchewan

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameExample CityCurrent Time
UTC -6CSTCentral Standard TimeReginaSun, 7:10:59 pm
MDTMountain Daylight TimeLloydminsterSun, 7:10:59 pm
UTC -5CDTCentral Daylight TimeCreightonSun, 8:10:59 pm

Saskatchewan Time Zone

Most of Saskatchewan observes Central Standard Time (CST) all year round, with no Daylight Saving Time (DST). However, some locations on the province borders use different time zones, including Lloydminster, Creighton, and Denare Beach.

Lloydminster on MST in Winter

The city of Lloydminster straddles the border of western Saskatchewan and eastern Alberta, leaving one part in Alberta that uses Mountain Time (MT) and mandates DST, and the other part in Saskatchewan, which follows CST all year round. The area is also known as the “Battle River Time Option.”

To keep both sides of the city running smoothly, all of Lloydminster follows the same time: UTC-7 during standard time and UTC-6 during the summer.

Even though Alberta and Saskatchewan follow the same time in Lloydminster, they technically follow different time zones: in summer, Lloydminster, Saskatchewan officially observes Central Standard Time (UTC-6), while the Albertan portion of the city observes Mountain Daylight Time (MDT); both have the same UTC-offset: UTC-6. At the end of the DST period, both provinces set the clocks back to Mountain Standard Time (MST), with an offset of UTC-7.

Note: To avoid confusion, all of Lloydminster shows on our website as using MST during winter and MDT during the DST period.

Two Locations Use DST

The northern towns Creighton and Denare Beach use CST in the winter and CDT during the DST period because the locations are close to Flin Flon that lies on the Saskatchewan and Manitoba border.

Almost Permanent DST

Based solely on mean solar time, Saskatchewan would be located in the Mountain Time zone. By choosing Central Standard Time as the time zone, Saskatchewan is about one hour ahead of mean solar time, resulting in darker mornings and lighter evenings than the neighboring provinces and effectively placing the province on permanent DST all year round.

Generalized Time Zones in Saskatchewan

Time Zone Abbreviation & NameOffsetCurrent Time
MTMountain TimeUTC -7:00 / -6:00Sun, 7:10:59 pm
CTCentral TimeUTC -6:00 / -5:00Sun, 8:10:59 pm

Note: Local time in these time zones changes when Daylight Saving Time begins and ends.

Time Zone Not Currently Being Observed in Saskatchewan

OffsetTime Zone Abbreviation & NameCommences
UTC -7MSTMountain Standard TimeNov 6, 2022

The above time zone is used during other parts of the year. It will become active again after the next clock change as Daylight Saving Time begins or ends.

Sunday, September 25, 2022