Home   Sun, Moon & Space   Eclipses   United States   Mar 14, 2025
Flag for United States

Mar 13–14, 2025 – Total Lunar Eclipse in the United States

Total Eclipse Visible
Mar 13–14, 2025
United States
Global Event: Total Lunar Eclipse
Local Type: Total Lunar Eclipse, in United States
Start of Penumbral: Thu, Mar 13, 2025 at 9:57 pm MDT
Start of Totality: Fri, Mar 14, 2025 at 12:26 am MDT
End of Totality: Fri, Mar 14, 2025 at 1:31 am MDT
End of Penumbral: Fri, Mar 14, 2025 at 4:00 am MDT

All times shown on this page are local time.

Location

Mar 13–14, 2025 – Total Lunar Eclipse – United States

Live Eclipse Animation will start at:
Live Eclipse Animation has ended.
You are using an outdated browser, to view the animation please update or switch to a modern browser. Alternatively you can view the old animation by clicking here.

This animation shows the eclipse near Butte in the United States.

This table provides the eclipse visibility and times for each state.

States in the United States Where the Eclipse Is Visible

StateTypeStart of PenumbralStart of TotalityEnd of TotalityEnd of Penumbral
Alabama
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Alaska
Total Lunar Eclipse
7:57 pm AKDT10:26 pm AKDT11:31 pm AKDT2:00 am AKDT
Arizona
Total Lunar Eclipse
8:57 pm MST11:26 pm MST12:31 am MST3:00 am MST
Arkansas
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
California
Total Lunar Eclipse
8:57 pm PDT11:26 pm PDT12:31 am PDT3:00 am PDT
Colorado
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm MDT12:26 am MDT1:31 am MDT4:00 am MDT
Connecticut
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Delaware
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
District of Columbia
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Florida
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Georgia
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Hawaii
Total Lunar Eclipse
6:20 pm HST8:26 pm HST9:31 pm HST12:00 midnight HST
Idaho
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm MDT12:26 am MDT1:31 am MDT4:00 am MDT
Illinois
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Indiana
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Iowa
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Kansas
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Kentucky
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Louisiana
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Maine
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Maryland
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Massachusetts
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Michigan
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Minnesota
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Mississippi
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Missouri
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Montana
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm MDT12:26 am MDT1:31 am MDT4:00 am MDT
Nebraska
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Nevada
Total Lunar Eclipse
8:57 pm PDT11:26 pm PDT12:31 am PDT3:00 am PDT
New Hampshire
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
New Jersey
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
New Mexico
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm MDT12:26 am MDT1:31 am MDT4:00 am MDT
New York
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
North Carolina
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
North Dakota
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Ohio
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Oklahoma
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Oregon
Total Lunar Eclipse
8:57 pm PDT11:26 pm PDT12:31 am PDT3:00 am PDT
Pennsylvania
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Rhode Island
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
South Carolina
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
South Dakota
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Tennessee
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Texas
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Utah
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm MDT12:26 am MDT1:31 am MDT4:00 am MDT
Vermont
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Virginia
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Washington
Total Lunar Eclipse
8:57 pm PDT11:26 pm PDT12:31 am PDT3:00 am PDT
West Virginia
Total Lunar Eclipse
11:57 pm EDT2:26 am EDT3:31 am EDT6:00 am EDT
Wisconsin
Total Lunar Eclipse
10:57 pm CDT1:26 am CDT2:31 am CDT5:00 am CDT
Wyoming
Total Lunar Eclipse
9:57 pm MDT12:26 am MDT1:31 am MDT4:00 am MDT

All times shown on this page are local time. (Note: more than one time zone is listed.)

Selection of Cities in the United States Where the Totality Is Visible

LocationObscurationStartMaxEndTotality DurationAvg. Cloud Cover
Adak, Alaska
100.00%
6:57 pm9:58 pm1:00 am HDT3h, 38m, 12s
93 %
Albany, New York
100.00%
11:57 pm2:58 am6:00 am EDT3h, 38m, 12s
74 %
Anchorage, Alaska
100.00%
7:57 pm10:58 pm2:00 am AKDT3h, 38m, 12s
53 %
Augusta, Maine
100.00%
11:57 pm2:58 am6:00 am EDT3h, 38m, 12s
61 %
Austin, Texas
100.00%
10:57 pm1:58 am5:00 am CDT3h, 38m, 12s
65 %

Actual weather forecasts are available from 14 days before the eclipse. Average cloud coverage is based on data since 2000.

Can't find your city? Use our interactive map >

Eclipses Visible in the United States

Eclipse Visibility from the United StatesVisibility Worldwide
Mar 25, 2024 Penumbral Lunar EclipsePenumbral Lunar Eclipse
Apr 8, 2024 Total Solar EclipseTotal Solar Eclipse
Sep 17–18, 2024 Partial Lunar EclipsePartial Lunar Eclipse
Oct 2, 2024 Partial Solar EclipseAnnular Solar Eclipse
Mar 13–14, 2025 Total Lunar EclipseTotal Lunar Eclipse

Note: Click on the date link for details in the United States, or the path map image for global details. Next visible eclipse is highlighted.

Next total solar eclipse in the United States

Other eclipses visible in the United States

Other eclipses worldwide