Home   News   Time Zone News   US & Canada: DST End 2022

Daylight Saving Time Ends in USA & Canada

In the United States, Canada, and Mexico’s northern border cities, Daylight Saving Time (DST) ends on Sunday, November 6, 2022.

Update: Mexico Abolishes DST

On October 26, the Mexican government announced that the Senate approved the law to remove DST in Mexico. Northern border locations will still follow the US DST schedule.

A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.
A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.

DST ends in the US and Canada on Sunday, November 6, 2022.


Clocks will be set back 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 01:00 (1 am) local time on Sunday, November 6, 2022.

As always, Europe will end DST a week before the US on October 30, 2022.

DST in the US starts again on Sunday, March 12, 2023.

Affects Most of the US

Most areas in the US change their clocks, except for the following territories:

Canada: DST Change

In Canada, clocks will change in almost all areas except:

US Senate Approves Permanent DST Bill

On March 15, 2022, the US Senate unanimously passed the Sunshine Protection Act. The bill proposes—beginning in November 2023—that all states go on permanent DST, which is one hour later than standard time. States that have passed legislation for permanent DST will be allowed to enact their legislation.

After the passing of the bill in the Senate, the legislation heads next to the House of Representatives. If passed in that chamber, it ends up on the President’s desk to be signed into law.

This has not happened yet. The current law only allows states to opt out of DST but not to follow it year-round.

US States Ready to Remove DST

19 states have enacted legislation or passed regulations for permanent DST:

Canada Following the US

Canadian provinces of Ontario and British Columbia also want to ditch the switch in favor of permanent DST. However, their proximity to the US border is making them wait.

Mexico Close to Removing DST

Mexico is considering removing DST permanently in most of the country. If the Mexican Senate completes the final stage of approval and signs the bill into law, October 30, 2022, may be the last time most Mexico set their clocks back one hour.

33 locations close to the country’s northern border, including the state of Baja California, will continue to follow the time change schedule of the United States and end DST on November 6.

The states of Sonora and Quintana Roo do not observe DST at all, so the clocks will not change there.

Other Countries and Territories

DST will also end on November 6 in Cuba, Bermuda, the Bahamas, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, and Thule Air Base in Greenland.

Set Clocks Back or Ahead?

One easy way to remember which way to set your clock is to keep in mind one of these sayings: “Spring forward, fall back” or “Spring ahead, fall behind.” The clocks spring ahead (= losing 1 hour) in the spring when DST starts, and they fall back one hour (= gaining 1 hour) when DST ends in the fall.