Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   DST US & Canada 2016

DST Starts in USA & Canada Sunday, March 13, 2016


Published 15-Feb-2016

Most of the United States, Canada, and Mexico's northern border cities will begin Daylight Saving Time (DST) on Sunday, March 13, 2016.

A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.

US & Canada DST Map: The striped areas start DST on Sunday, March 13, 2016.

US & Canada DST Map: The striped areas start DST on Sunday, March 13, 2016. Cloks are set 1 hour forward from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) local time when DST starts.


People in areas that observe DST will spring forward 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am), local time.

Europe Starts DST Sunday, March 27, 2016

Most of the US and Canada

The clock changes will affect many cities in the United States’ 9 time zones and Canada’s 6 time zones.

Areas that observe DST will fall back to standard time at 02:00 (2 am) local time on Sunday, November 6, 2016.

Meeting Planner: Find the Best Time to Meet Across Time Zones

US Areas With no DST

The following areas in the United States don't use DST and clocks will not change: Arizona (except Navajo Nation Community, which does use DST), Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, and The United States Virgin Islands.

Clock Changes in the US

Canadian Areas With no DST

Areas with no DST in Canada include: Southampton Island, most of Saskatchewan, some regions in Québec, east of 63° west longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), and some areas in British Columbia (e.g. Dawson Creek).

Clock Changes in Canada

Recent Bills

Lawmakers in several US states, including Alaska and Michigan have proposed bills to abolish DST. In other states, including Florida, South Dakota and Alabama proposals to stay on permanent DST are being discussed. However, none of the bills have gone through.

The Pros and Cons of DST

Mexican Border Cities Follow the US

Mexico’s northern border cities, like Juarez City (Ciudad Juárez), will follow the United States' DST schedule. However, most of Mexico, including the capital Mexico City, will set their clocks 1 hour forward on Sunday, April 3, 2016.

A few Mexican cities, like Hermosillo and Cancun, do not observe DST at all.

Clock Changes in Mexico

Cayman Islands Change Their Mind

The Cayman Islands were going to introduce DST on March 13, 2016, syncing with the US. However, in January 2016 the government rejected the proposal an confirmed that there will be no DST in the islands after all.

Other Areas Starting DST on March 13, 2016

Cuba, Bermuda, The Bahamas, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, and the Thule Air Base in Greenland will also start DST on the same date.

DST Dates Worldwide — First Half of 2016

DST Dates Worldwide — Second Half of 2016


Current time in
Los Angeles


Sunday, June 16, 2019

Current time in


Sunday, June 16, 2019

Current time in


Sunday, June 16, 2019

Current time in
Washington DC


Sunday, June 16, 2019

Daylight Saving Time – DST

  1. One Hour Back or Forward?
  2. What Is Standard Time?
  3. Savings or Saving?
  4. Pros and Cons of DST
  5. Your Health and DST
  6. Is Summer Time the Same as DST?
  7. Winter Time or Standard Time?
  8. History of DST
  9. DST in the USA
  10. History of DST in Europe
  11. How Does DST Work?
  12. DST Statistics

Time Zones & DST

You might also like

June Solstice

June Solstice

The June solstice is the longest day of the year in the Northern Hemisphere & the shortest day in the Southern Hemisphere. more

Strawberry Moon in June

Strawberry Moon in June

The Full Moon in June is named after the wild strawberries that start to ripen in early summer. It is also called Rose Moon, Hot Moon, and Mead Moon more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more