Flag for Canada

Time Change 1908 in Canada

Next change:
1 hour Back

Nov 1, 2020, 2:00 am

In small parts of Canada

Country: Canada

Abbreviations: CA, CAN

Capital: Ottawa

Time Zones: 6

Dial Code: +1

Note: Only some parts of Canada used DST in 1908.

Jul 1

Forward 1 hour

Jul 1, 1908 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Wednesday, July 1, 1908, 12:00:00 midnight clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Wednesday, July 1, 1908, 1:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Jul 1, 1908 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Sep 1

Back 1 hour

Sep 1, 1908 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Tuesday, September 1, 1908, 12:00:00 midnight clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Monday, August 31, 1908, 11:00:00 pm local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Sep 1, 1908 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

Other years: 2020

When Does DST Start and End in Canada?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in Canada starts on the 2nd Sunday in March and ends on the 1st Sunday in November.


Daylight Saving Time Info

Which Provinces and Territories in Canada don't use DST?

Yukon, most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec east of 63° westerly longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia don't use DST and stay on standard time all year. See table below.

DST in Provinces and Territories in Canada in 1908 (13 in total, 12 which don't observe DST, 1 with parts on DST)

AlbertaNo DSTNorthwest TerritoriesNo DSTPrince Edward IslandNo DST
British ColumbiaNo DSTNova ScotiaNo DSTQuebecNo DST
ManitobaNo DSTNunavutNo DSTSaskatchewanNo DST
New BrunswickNo DSTOntarioNo DSTYukonNo DST
Newfoundland and LabradorNo DSTOntario (south)Jul 1 - Sep 1

Daylight Saving Time History in Canada

  • Canada first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1908.
  • Canada has observed DST for 108 years between 1908 and 2020 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1913.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

On July 1, 1908, the residents of Port Arthur, Ontario, today's Thunder Bay, turned their clocks forward by 1 hour to start the world's first DST period. Other locations in Canada soon followed suit. On April 23, 1914, Regina in Saskatchewan implemented DST. The cities of Winnipeg and Brandon in Manitoba did so on April 24, 1916.

DST in Canada Today

It is up to the legislation in each municipality in Canada to decide on the use of DST. As a result, there are some locations don't follow the DST schedule of their in provinces and territories. For example, while British Columbia uses DST, some locations in the province do not. These include Chetwynd, Creston, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, and Fort St. John. In Saskatchewan, it is the opposite. Most of the province does not observe DST, except for some locations, including Creighton and Denare Beach. From March 8, 2020, Yukon made DST permanent.

Since 2007, all provinces, territories, and locations in Canada using DST follow the same start and end dates as the United States.