Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Time Change 1913 in Canada
Flag for Canada

Time Change 1913 in Canada

Next change:
1 hour Back

Nov 3, 2024, 2:00 am

Country: Canada
Abbreviations: CA, CAN
Capital: Ottawa
Time Zones: 6
Dial Code: +1

Daylight Saving Time (DST) Not Observed in Year 1913

Canada observed Eastern Standard Time (EST) all year.

DST was not in use in 1913.

Which countries & states use DST and which do not?

Other years: 2024

When Does DST Start and End in Canada?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in Canada starts on the 2nd Sunday in March and ends on the 1st Sunday in November.

Which Provinces and Territories in Canada don't use DST?

Yukon, most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec east of 63° westerly longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia don't use DST and stay on standard time all year. See table below.

DST in Provinces and Territories in Canada in 1913 (13 in total, 13 which don't observe DST)

AlbertaNo DSTNorthwest TerritoriesNo DSTQuebecNo DST
British ColumbiaNo DSTNova ScotiaNo DSTSaskatchewanNo DST
ManitobaNo DSTNunavutNo DSTYukonNo DST
New BrunswickNo DSTOntarioNo DST
Newfoundland and LabradorNo DSTPrince Edward IslandNo DST

Daylight Saving Time History in Canada

On July 1, 1908, the residents of Port Arthur, Ontario, today's Thunder Bay, turned their clocks forward by 1 hour to start the world's first DST period. Other locations in Canada soon followed suit. On April 23, 1914, Regina in Saskatchewan implemented DST. The cities of Winnipeg and Brandon in Manitoba did so on April 24, 1916.

DST in Canada Today

It is up to the legislation in each municipality in Canada to decide on the use of DST. As a result, there are some locations don't follow the DST schedule of their in provinces and territories. For example, while British Columbia uses DST, some locations in the province do not. These include Chetwynd, Creston, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, and Fort St. John. In Saskatchewan, it is the opposite. Most of the province does not observe DST, except for some locations, including Creighton and Denare Beach. From March 8, 2020, Yukon made DST permanent.

Since 2007, all provinces, territories, and locations in Canada using DST follow the same start and end dates as the United States.