Flag for Mexico

Time Change 2029 in Mexico

Next change:
1 hour Forward

Mar 12, 2023, 2:00 am

In small parts of Mexico

Country: Mexico
Long Name: United Mexican States
Abbreviations: MX, MEX
Capital: Mexico City
Time Zones: 4
Dial Code: +52

Note: Only some parts of Mexico use DST in 2029.

Mar 11

Forward 1 hour

Mar 11, 2029 - Daylight Saving Time Starts

When local standard time is about to reach
Sunday, March 11, 2029, 2:00:00 am clocks are turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, March 11, 2029, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour later on Mar 11, 2029 than the day before. There will be more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Nov 4

Back 1 hour

Nov 4, 2029 - Daylight Saving Time Ends

When local daylight time is about to reach
Sunday, November 4, 2029, 2:00:00 am clocks are turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, November 4, 2029, 1:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour earlier on Nov 4, 2029 than the day before. There will be more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

Other years: 2026 | 2027 | 2028 | 2029 | 2022

When Does DST Start and End in Mexico?

In most of Mexico, including its capital Mexico City, Daylight Saving Time (DST) runs from the first Sunday of April to the last Sunday of October. However, there are several exceptions:

  • The state of Sonora does not change its clocks. The rationale is to stay in sync with the neighboring US state of Arizona, where Mountain Standard Time (MST) is observed all year. In the map below, Sonora is the yellow area on the left.
  • Quintana Roo has opted out of following the country's DST regime. Following the establishment of its own time zone in 2015, Mexico's easternmost state is observing EST year-round. In the map below, Quintana Roo is the yellow area on the right.
  • The state of Baja California and many other locations close to the country's northern border follow the DST schedule of the United States. This includes cities like Tijuana, Ciudad Juárez, and Ojinaga (please see cities marked “north” in the table below). Here, the DST period starts on the second Sunday in March and ends on the first Sunday in November.

The states of Sonora (yellow area on the left) and Quintana Roo (yellow area on the right) do not observe DST.

DST in States and Federal Districts in Mexico in 2029
(32 in total, 1 where all observe DST, 27 which don't observe DST, 4 with parts on DST)

AguascalientesNo DSTGuanajuatoNo DSTQuerétaroNo DST
Baja CaliforniaMar 11 – Nov 4GuerreroNo DSTQuintana RooNo DST
Baja California SurNo DSTHidalgoNo DSTSan Luis PotosíNo DST
CampecheNo DSTJaliscoNo DSTSinaloaNo DST
ChiapasNo DSTMichoacánNo DSTSonoraNo DST
Chihuahua (north)Mar 11 – Nov 4MorelosNo DSTTabascoNo DST
ChihuahuaNo DSTMéxicoNo DSTTamaulipas (north)Mar 11 – Nov 4
Ciudad de MéxicoNo DSTNayaritNo DSTTamaulipasNo DST
Coahuila de Zaragoza (north)Mar 11 – Nov 4Nuevo León (north)Mar 11 – Nov 4TlaxcalaNo DST
Coahuila de ZaragozaNo DSTNuevo LeónNo DSTVeracruzNo DST
ColimaNo DSTOaxacaNo DSTYucatánNo DST
DurangoNo DSTPueblaNo DSTZacatecasNo DST

Daylight Saving Time History in Mexico

  • Mexico first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1931.
  • Mexico has observed DST for 65 years between 1931 and 2022 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1975.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

Baja California Pioneered DST

The state of Baja California introduced seasonal clock changes in 1931, remaining the only area in Mexico with a DST schedule for 65 years. In the rest of the country, DST was introduced in 1996.