Home   News   Time Zone News   Oz & Kiwi DST End 2016

Australia & New Zealand End DST on April 3, 2016

People in New Zealand and parts of Australia will get an additional hour of sleep as the Daylight Saving Time (DST) period ends on Sunday, April 3, 2016.

Time Zones in Australia and New Zealand.

DST ends on April 3, 2016.


Clocks in most areas will be set back by one hour at 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am), local time.

Where the Clocks Change

DST is used in 5 of Australia's 8 states and territories. Clocks will fall back to standard time in the following areas:

On Lord Howe Island, which is a part of New South Wales, clocks move back 30 minutes instead of 1 hour.

No DST in Parts of Australia

The northern and western parts of Australia do not use DST, so the clocks will not change in Queensland, Northern Territory, and Western Australia.

The Australian Dependencies Christmas Island, Cocos Island, and Norfolk Island do not use DST.

New Zealand Ends DST

All of New Zealand uses DST, including Auckland, Christchurch, and Wellington. Clocks will be set back by one hour at 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am).

The Chatham Islands, which represent New Zealand's second time zone, will return to standard time in sync with the rest of New Zealand, changing from 03:45 (3:45 am) to 02:45 (2:45 am), local time.

The New Zealand Dependency Tokelau does not use DST.

Samoa Ends DST

Another country ending the DST period at the same time is Samoa, where clocks will be turned back from 04:00 (4 am) to 03:00 (3 am), local time.

When Will DST Start Again?

Daylight Saving Time in Australia runs from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April each year. DST will start again on October 2, 2016.

In New Zealand, DST starts on September 25, 2016. DST is in use there from the last Sunday in September to the first Sunday in April.