Home   News   Time Zone News   Oz & Kiwi DST End 2020

Australia & New Zealand End DST on April 5, 2020

People in New Zealand and parts of Australia will get an additional hour to enjoy as Daylight Saving Time (DST) ends on Sunday, April 5, 2020.

Time Zones in Australia and New Zealand.

DST ends on April 5, 2020.


Clocks in most areas will be set back one hour to standard time from 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am) local time on April 5, 2020.

Australia's Clock Changes

In Australia, DST is observed in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria. Clocks in these areas will be turned back one hour.

On Lord Howe Island, which is situated in a rare half-hour time zone, clocks move back 30 minutes instead of one hour.

No DST in Parts of Australia

Northern and western parts of Australia do not use DST, so the clocks will not change in Queensland, the Northern Territory, or Western Australia.

The same is the case in the Australian dependencies Christmas Island and Cocos Island.

DST on Norfolk Island

The residents of Norfolk Island will set their clocks back by 1 hour from 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am) on April 5, 2020.

Last year, they set their clocks forward for the first time after introducing DST in 2019. Except for a short period in 1974-1975, the island has not observed DST in the past.

New Zealand Ends DST

All of New Zealand, including Auckland, Christchurch, and Wellington, use DST. Clocks will be set back by one hour at 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am) local time.

The Chatham Islands, which are in New Zealand's second time zone, will change from 03:45 (3:45 am) to 02:45 (2:45 am) local time.

The New Zealand dependency of Tokelau does not use DST.

Samoa Ends DST

Another country ending the DST period at the same time is Samoa, where clocks will be turned back from 04:00 (4 am) to 03:00 (3 am) local time.

When Will DST Start Again?

Daylight Saving Time in Australia runs from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April each year. DST will start again on October 4, 2020.

In New Zealand, DST starts on September 27, 2020. Kiwis observe DST from the last Sunday in September to the first Sunday in April.