Home   News   Time Zone News   Oz & NZ DST End 2022

Australia & New Zealand End DST

People in New Zealand and parts of Australia will get an additional hour to enjoy when Daylight Saving Time (DST) ends on Sunday, April 3, 2022.

Time Zones in Australia and New Zealand.

New Zealand and the orange striped areas in Australia will end DST on April 3, 2022.


Clocks in most areas will be set back 1 hour to standard time from 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am), local time on April 3, 2022.

Australia’s Clock Changes

In Australia, clocks will be turned back one hour in:

On Lord Howe Island, situated in a rare half-hour time zone, clocks move back 30 minutes instead of one hour.

No DST in Parts of Australia

Northern and western parts of Australia do not use DST, so the clocks will not change in Queensland, the Northern Territory, or Western Australia.

The same is true in the Australian dependencies Christmas Island and Cocos Island.

New Zealand Ends DST

All of New Zealand uses DST. Clocks will be set back by one hour from 03:00 (3 am) to 02:00 (2 am), local time, on April 3, 2022.

The Chatham Islands, in New Zealand's second time zone, will change from 03:45 (3:45 am) to 02:45 (2:45 am), local time.

Tokelau, a New Zealand dependency, does not use DST.

Neighboring country Samoa decided to scrap DST in 2021.

When Will DST Start Again?

Daylight Saving Time in Australia runs from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April each year. DST will start again on October 2, 2022.

In New Zealand, DST starts on September 25, 2022. Kiwis observe DST from the last Sunday in September to the first Sunday in April.