Home   News   Time Zone News   US & Canada: DST End 2016

USA & Canada: DST Ends on Nov 6, 2016

Most of the United States, Canada, and Mexico's northern border cities end Daylight Saving Time (DST) on Sunday, November 6, 2016.

A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.
A map of time zones and DST in the US and Canada.

DST ends on Sun, Nov 6, 2016


Clocks will be set back 1 hour to standard time from 02:00 (2 am) to 01:00 (1 am), local time.

Lighter Mornings

Sunrise and sunset will be about 1 hour earlier on Sunday, November 6, 2016 than the day before, so there will be more light in the morning.

The United States and Canada start DST again on Sunday, March 12, 2017.

Most of the US on DST

Almost all of the United States turn the clocks back 1 hour for DST. Hawaii and most of Arizona are the only 2 US states that do not use Daylight Saving Time.

None of the US dependencies American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, Northern Marina Islands, The US Minor Outlying Islands, and The US Virgin Islands observe DST.

DST in Canada

Most of Canada uses Daylight Saving Time, and people set their clocks at the same time as in the US.

Areas that don't use DST include most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec's east of 63° west longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia.

US Bills to Abolish DST

Recently, the state of Massachusetts signed a bill launching a study into permanently changing the time zone to Atlantic Standard Time (AST), leaving DST behind at the same time.

In California, a bill that would have allowed Californians to vote on keeping or abolishing DST made it all the way to the state Senate before it was voted down.

In Alaska, a proposal to remove DST has been steadily advancing in the State Legislature.

Mexico DST Divided

A few northern Mexican border towns, such as Tijuana and Juarez City (Ciudad Juárez), end DST on November 6 along with the US and Canada.

However, most of Mexico ends DST 1 week earlier, on Sunday, October 30, 2016, when Europe's DST ends. A few Mexican cities, like Hermosillo and Cancun, do not observe DST at all.

Other areas ending DST on November 6 are Cuba, Bermuda, The Bahamas, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, and the Thule Air Base in Greenland.

Set Clocks Back or Ahead?

To remember which way to set your watch, keep in mind one of these sayings: “Spring forward, fall back” or “Spring ahead, fall behind.” The clocks spring ahead (= losing 1 hour) in the spring when DST starts, and fall behind 1 hour (= gaining 1 hour) when DST ends in the fall.