Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Time Change 1918 in Australia
Flag for Australia

Time Change 1918 in Australia

Next change:
1 hour Back

Apr 7, 2024, 3:00 am

Country: Australia
Long Name: Commonwealth of Australia
Abbreviations: AU, AUS
Capital: Canberra
Time Zones: 6 (Main Country)
Total Time Zones: 9 (with dependencies)
Dial Code: +61

Daylight Saving Time (DST) Not Observed in Year 1918

Australia observed Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST) all year.

DST was not in use in 1918.

Which countries & states use DST and which do not?

Other years: 2024

When Does DST Start and End in Australia?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is used in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria (see map). Here, it starts the 1st Sunday of October and ends the 1st Sunday of April.

Which States and Territories Don't Use DST?

Western Australia, Queensland, and the Northern Territory don't use DST, as shown in the map below.

DST in States and Territories in Australia in 1918 (8 in total, 8 which don't observe DST)

Australian Capital TerritoryNo DSTQueenslandNo DSTVictoriaNo DST
New South WalesNo DSTSouth AustraliaNo DSTWestern AustraliaNo DST
Northern TerritoryNo DSTTasmaniaNo DST

DST in Other Locations in Australia in 1918 (1 Location)

Lord Howe IslandNo DST

Lord Howe Island's DST

Lord Howe Island is located about 600 kilometers (373 miles) northeast of Sydney. The island's DST schedule is in sync with the rest of Australia. However, the clocks go forward only 30 minutes, from UTC+10.30 to UTC+11.

Daylight Saving Time in Dependencies of Australia

DependencyTypeDaylight Saving Time Period
Christmas IslandTerritoryNo Daylight Saving Time
Cocos IslandsTerritoryNo Daylight Saving Time
Norfolk IslandTerritoryNo Daylight Saving Time

Australian dependencies do not use DST.

Daylight Saving Time History in Australia

On October 2, 1916, during World War I, Tasmania became the 1st state in Australia to use DST. The measure was applied in all Australian states and territories in 1917. It was removed in the whole country in 1918. Seasonal change was reintroduced during World War II, when it was used from 1942 to 1944.

After the end of the war, DST was not observed in any Australian state or territory until October 1, 1967, when Tasmania reintroduced it during a drought. The state has continued changing its clocks ever since.

In 1971, the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria, and Queensland followed Tasmania.

Queensland abandoned DST already in 1972 and, with the exception of a trial from 1989 to 1992, it has not been in use. Western Australia conducted a DST trial from 2006 to 2009, but it was abandoned for its unpopularity. The Northern Territory has not used DST since 1944.