Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Australia
Flag for Australia

Time Change 2007 in Australia

Next change:
1 hour Forward

Oct 2, 2022, 2:00 am

In most of Australia

Country: Australia
Long Name: Commonwealth of Australia
Abbreviations: AU, AUS
Capital: Canberra
Time Zones: 5 (Main Country)
Total Time Zones: 8 (with dependencies)
Dial Code: +61

Note: Only some parts of Australia used DST in 2007. Some regions of Australia use a different period of DST than shown below.

Mar 25

Back 1 hour

Mar 25, 2007 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, March 25, 2007, 3:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, March 25, 2007, 2:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Mar 25, 2007 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

More info:
Australia & New Zealand Start DST

Oct 28

Forward 1 hour

Oct 28, 2007 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, October 28, 2007, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, October 28, 2007, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Oct 28, 2007 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

More info:
Australia & New Zealand Start DST

Other years: 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2022

When Does DST Start and End in Australia?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is used in the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Tasmania, and Victoria (see map). Here, it starts the 1st Sunday of October and ends the 1st Sunday of April.

Which States and Territories Don't Use DST?

Western Australia, Queensland, and the Northern Territory don't use DST, as shown in the map below.

DST in States and Territories in Australia in 2007 (8 in total, 6 where all observe DST, 2 which don't observe DST)

Australian Capital TerritoryOct 28 – Mar 25QueenslandNo DSTVictoriaOct 28 – Mar 25
New South WalesOct 28 – Mar 25South AustraliaOct 28 – Mar 25Western AustraliaOct 28 – Mar 25
Northern TerritoryNo DSTTasmaniaOct 7 – Mar 25

DST in Other Locations in Australia in 2007 (1 Location)

Lord Howe IslandOct 28 – Mar 25 *
* DST is 30 minutes ahead of standard time.

Lord Howe Island's DST

Lord Howe Island is located about 600 kilometers (373 miles) northeast of Sydney. The island's DST schedule is in sync with the rest of Australia. However, the clocks go forward only 30 minutes, from UTC+10.30 to UTC+11.

Daylight Saving Time in Dependencies of Australia

DependencyTypeDaylight Saving Time Period
Christmas IslandTerritoryNo Daylight Saving Time
Cocos IslandsTerritoryNo Daylight Saving Time
Norfolk IslandTerritoryNo Daylight Saving Time

Australian dependencies do not use DST.

Daylight Saving Time History in Australia

  • Australia first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1916.
  • Australia has observed DST for 61 years between 1916 and 2022 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1966.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

On October 2, 1916, during World War I, Tasmania became the 1st state in Australia to use DST. The measure was applied in all Australian states and territories in 1917. It was removed in the whole country in 1918. Seasonal change was reintroduced during World War II, when it was used from 1942 to 1944.

After the end of the war, DST was not observed in any Australian state or territory until October 1, 1967, when Tasmania reintroduced it during a drought. The state has continued changing its clocks ever since.

In 1971, the Australian Capital Territory, New South Wales, South Australia, Victoria, and Queensland followed Tasmania.

Queensland abandoned DST already in 1972 and, with the exception of a trial from 1989 to 1992, it has not been in use. Western Australia conducted a DST trial from 2006 to 2009, but it was abandoned for its unpopularity. The Northern Territory has not used DST since 1944.