Flag for Canada

Time Change 2004 in Canada

Next change:
1 hour Back

Nov 7, 2021, 2:00 am

Country: Canada
Abbreviations: CA, CAN
Capital: Ottawa
Time Zones: 6
Dial Code: +1

Apr 4

Forward 1 hour

Apr 4, 2004 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, April 4, 2004, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, April 4, 2004, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Apr 4, 2004 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Oct 31

Back 1 hour

Oct 31, 2004 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, October 31, 2004, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, October 31, 2004, 1:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Oct 31, 2004 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

Other years: 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2021

When Does DST Start and End in Canada?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in Canada starts on the 2nd Sunday in March and ends on the 1st Sunday in November.

Which Provinces and Territories in Canada don't use DST?

Yukon, most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec east of 63° westerly longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia don't use DST and stay on standard time all year. See table below.

DST in Provinces and Territories in Canada in 2004 (13 in total, 9 where all observe DST, 4 with parts on DST)

AlbertaApr 4 - Oct 31Northwest TerritoriesApr 4 - Oct 31Quebec (east)No DST
British Columbia (east, northeast, southeast)No DSTNova ScotiaApr 4 - Oct 31QuebecApr 4 - Oct 31
British ColumbiaApr 4 - Oct 31NunavutApr 4 - Oct 31Saskatchewan (east, west)Apr 4 - Oct 31
ManitobaApr 4 - Oct 31Ontario (northwest)No DSTSaskatchewanNo DST
New BrunswickApr 4 - Oct 31OntarioApr 4 - Oct 31YukonApr 4 - Oct 31
Newfoundland and LabradorApr 4 - Oct 31Prince Edward IslandApr 4 - Oct 31

Daylight Saving Time History in Canada

  • Canada first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1908.
  • Canada has observed DST for 109 years between 1908 and 2021 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1913.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

On July 1, 1908, the residents of Port Arthur, Ontario, today's Thunder Bay, turned their clocks forward by 1 hour to start the world's first DST period. Other locations in Canada soon followed suit. On April 23, 1914, Regina in Saskatchewan implemented DST. The cities of Winnipeg and Brandon in Manitoba did so on April 24, 1916.

DST in Canada Today

It is up to the legislation in each municipality in Canada to decide on the use of DST. As a result, there are some locations don't follow the DST schedule of their in provinces and territories. For example, while British Columbia uses DST, some locations in the province do not. These include Chetwynd, Creston, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, and Fort St. John. In Saskatchewan, it is the opposite. Most of the province does not observe DST, except for some locations, including Creighton and Denare Beach. From March 8, 2020, Yukon made DST permanent.

Since 2007, all provinces, territories, and locations in Canada using DST follow the same start and end dates as the United States.