Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Netherlands
Flag for Netherlands

Time Change 1976 in the Netherlands

Next change:
1 hour Back

Oct 30, 2022, 3:00 am

Country: Netherlands
Long Name: Kingdom of the Netherlands
Abbreviations: NL, NLD
Capital: Amsterdam
Administrative Capital: The Hague
Judicial Capital: The Hague
Legislative Capital: The Hague
Time Zones: 2 (Main Country)
Total Time Zones: 3 (with dependencies)
Dial Code: +31

Daylight Saving Time (DST) Not Observed in Year 1976

Netherlands observed Central European Time (CET) all year.

DST was not in use in 1976.

The previous DST change in Netherlands was on September 16, 1945.

Try selecting a different year below.

Which countries & states use DST and which do not?

Other years: 1973 | 1974 | 1975 | 1976 | 1977 | 1978 | 1979 | 2022

When Does DST Start and End in the Netherlands?

The European mainland of the Netherlands uses Daylight Saving Time (DST) during part of the year. The DST period starts on the last Sunday of March and ends on the last Sunday of October, together with most other European countries.

Central European Time (CET) is used as standard time, while Central European Summer Time (CEST) is observed when DST is in force.

Daylight Saving Time in Dependencies of Netherlands

DependencyTypeDaylight Saving Time Period
ArubaConstituent countryNo Daylight Saving Time
Caribbean NetherlandsConstituent countryNo Daylight Saving Time
CuraçaoConstituent countryNo Daylight Saving Time
Sint MaartenConstituent countryNo Daylight Saving Time

Daylight Saving Time History in Netherlands

  • Netherlands first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1916.
  • Netherlands has observed DST for 76 years between 1916 and 2022.
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1976.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

One of the First Countries to Use DST

On April 30, 1916, Germany became the first country to observe Daylight Saving Time (DST). On the very next day, on May 1, 1916, the Netherlands followed suit.

Until 1940, the Netherlands' standard time was based on solar time at the meridian running through its capital, Amsterdam, instead of GMT, then the world's time standard. From 1916 to 1936, Dutch standard time was 19 minutes and 32 seconds ahead of GMT. When DST was in force, the GMT offset increased to 1 hour, 19 minutes, and 32 seconds.

During World War II, German forces ordered an all-year DST period, which lasted from 1940 to 1942. From 1942 to 1945, Dutch clocks followed Germany's DST schedule. After the country's liberation in 1945, DST was abolished. However, the Netherlands did not revert to Dutch Time but kept Central European Time (CET) as its standard time. Daylight Saving Time was re-introduced in 1977, and DST clock changes are still observed in the Netherlands to the present day.