Home   Time Zones   Abbreviations   ACDT – Australian Central Daylight Time

Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT)

Also known as: Australian Central Time (ACT) and Australian Central Standard Time (ACST)

No locations currently on ACDT. Would you like to see ACST?

Australia: ACDT is currently not observed because locations are on standard time and are observing ACST.

Time zone map of ACDT
No locations currently on ACDT.
Observes ACDT part of the year.
Areas with same time currently (UTC +10:30).
No locations are currently on ACDT – Australian Central Daylight Time.
Observes ACDT – Australian Central Daylight Time part of the year, but not currently.
Currently has same time zone offset as ACDT (UTC +10:30) but different time zone name.

Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT) is 10:30 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). This time zone is a Daylight Saving Time time zone and is used in: Australia. Australian Central Daylight Time is a half-hour time zone. Its local time differs by 30 minutes instead of the normal whole hour.

See full time zone map

What Is Australian Central Daylight Time?

Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT) is a time zone in the middle of Australia. It is used in two Australian states and territories: New South Wales and South Australia.

In New South Wales, it is only used in Broken Hill (Yancowinna County).

Australian Central Daylight Time shares a border with Australian Eastern Time (AET) in the east and Australian Western Standard Time (AWST) in the west. It also shares a border with Australian Central Western Standard Time (ACWST), a time zone only used in Eucla.


Australian Central Daylight Time (ACDT) is in use from the first Sunday in October to the first Sunday in April during Daylight Saving Time (DST). Australian Central Standard Time (ACST) is used during the remainder of the year.

ACDT Is the Australian Central Time Zone

In everyday usage, ACST is often referred to as Australian Central Time (ACT) or the Australian Central Time Zone. This can add a bit of confusion as the term Australian Central Time does not differentiate between standard time and Daylight Saving Time, so Australian Central Time switches between ACST and ACDT in areas that use DST during part of the year.

Australia has two generic time zones that include both standard and daylight time: Australian Eastern Time (AET) and Australian Central Time (ACT). The country has a complex set of time zones, some of which have an unusual UTC offset.

Converting ACDT to Other Australian Time Zones

Where and When is ACDT Observed?


Australian states/territories using ACDT in the summer and ACST in the winter:

This time zone is in use, but not observed in any location at this time.

Other Central Daylight Time Zones

Time zones can have similar names and abbreviations but have a different UTC offset:

Other Time Zones in UTC +10:30

Some time zones exist that have the same offset as ACDT, but can be found under a different name: