Home   Time Zones   Abbreviations   AET – Australian Eastern Time

AET – Australian Eastern Time

Time zone map of AEDT
Currently observing AEDT.
Areas with same time currently (UTC +11).
Currently observing AEDT – Australian Eastern Daylight Time.
Currently has same time zone offset as AEDT (UTC +11) but different time zone name.

The term Australian Eastern Time (AET) is often used to denote the local time in areas observing either Australian Eastern Daylight Time (AEDT) or Australian Eastern Standard Time (AEST).

Australian Eastern Standard Time is 10 hours ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).

Australian Eastern Daylight Time is 11 hours ahead of UTC.

In locations observing Daylight Saving Time (DST) during part of the year, Australian Eastern Time is not static but switches between AEDT and AEST.

See full time zone map

Where and when is Australian Eastern Time observed?


Australian states/territories using AEST in the winter and AEDT in the summer

  • Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales - except Broken Hill (Yancowinna County) (ACST/ACDT)
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria

AEST all year round

Some locations, such as the ones below don't switch and are in AEST all year long.


Australian states/territories using AEST all year

  • Queensland

AEDT all year round

Some locations, such as the ones below don't switch and are in AEDT all year long.


Pacific islands/territories using AEDT all year

  • Macquarie Island (Australia)

Australian Eastern Time now (AEDT)


Monday, December 17, 2018

  • AEDT will be observed in Sydney, Macquarie Island until Apr 7, 2019 at 3:00 am
  • UTC Offset: UTC +11
  • 16 hours ahead of Washington DC


Find current time and time zone by city

Example cities

Australia – Sydney
Australia – Macquarie Island

Related time zones

AEST – Australian Eastern Standard Time
AEDT – Australian Eastern Daylight Time

Time Zone Map with DST

Time zone map

Time Zone Map

You might also like

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Look Up for Shooting Stars!

Shooting stars from the Geminid Meteor Shower can be seen nearly all over the world. The peak is around December 14 with up to 120 meteors an hour! more

Watch Comet 46P/Wirtanen!

Watch Comet 46P/Wirtanen!

All of December, this comet will be bright enough to spot with the naked eye. Find the comet on our Interactive Night Sky Map and see when and where you can watch it. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward 1 hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Calendar with 12 months

12 Months of the Year

The 12 months of the year are linked to the Moon's orbit around Earth. Why are there 12 months? What do the month names mean? more