Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Antarctica
Flag for Antarctica

Time Change 1930 in Antarctica

Last change: 2009
1 hour Back

Mar 15, 2009, 12:00 midnight

In some areas of Antarctica

Country: Antarctica
Abbreviations: AQ, ATA
Time Zones: 24+

Note: Only some parts of Antarctica used DST in 1930.

Dec 1

Forward 1 hour

Dec 1, 1930 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Monday, December 1, 1930, 12:00:00 midnight clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Monday, December 1, 1930, 1:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Dec 1, 1930 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Other years: 2022

Is there Daylight Saving Time in Antarctica?

Although most research stations in Antarctica lie within the Antarctic Circle where Daylight Saving Time (DST) does not make sense as a measure to conserve energy, some of them change their clocks every year to stay in sync with the countries that operate or supply them. The date of the change may also vary, depending on supply boats or flights. For this reason, Daylight Saving Time changes in Antarctica are often labeled as preliminary.

Vostok Station, for example, doesn't use DST as it is in the Antarctic Circle and experiences 24 hours of sunlight during the summer and 24 hours of darkness in the winter.

McMurdo Station, however, follows New Zealand Standard Time (NZST) during standard time and New Zealand Daylight Time (NZDT) during the DST period in New Zealand.

The Norwegian research station Troll changes between Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) during standard time, and Central European Summer Time (CEST) during the DST-period.

Casey Station changes between UTC+8 in the winter season and UTC+11 in the summer season. The Australian station's time changes line up—for the most part—with the switch to DST in Australia. So, when Tasmania sets the clocks forward one hour for DST to UTC+11, Casey set their clocks forward three hours to UTC+11.

DST in Locations in Antarctica in 1930 (19 Locations)

Belgrano II BaseDec 1 - No EndMarambio BaseDec 1 - No EndRothera Research StationDec 1 - No End
Carlini BaseDec 1 - No EndMario Zucchelli StationNo DSTSan Martín BaseDec 1 - No End
CaseyNo DSTMawsonNo DSTSouth PoleNo DST
Concordia StationNo DSTMcMurdoNo DSTTroll StationNo DST
DavisNo DSTNeumayer-Station IIINo DSTVostok StationNo DST
Dumont d'Urville StationNo DSTOrcadasDec 1 - No End
Esperanza BaseDec 1 - No EndPalmer StationNo DST

Daylight Saving Time History in Antarctica

  • Antarctica first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1930.
  • Antarctica has observed DST for 89 years between 1930 and 2022 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1973.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics