Flag for Canada

Time Change 2011 in Canada

Next change:
1 hour Forward

Mar 12, 2023, 2:00 am

Country: Canada
Abbreviations: CA, CAN
Capital: Ottawa
Time Zones: 6
Dial Code: +1

Mar 13

Forward 1 hour

Mar 13, 2011 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, March 13, 2011, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, March 13, 2011, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Mar 13, 2011 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

More info:
USA and Canada Start DST on March 13, 2011

Nov 6

Back 1 hour

Nov 6, 2011 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, November 6, 2011, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, November 6, 2011, 1:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Nov 6, 2011 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

More info:
Daylight Saving ends in USA and Canada Nov 6

Other years: 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2022

When Does DST Start and End in Canada?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in Canada starts on the 2nd Sunday in March and ends on the 1st Sunday in November.

Which Provinces and Territories in Canada don't use DST?

Yukon, most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec east of 63° westerly longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia don't use DST and stay on standard time all year. See table below.

DST in Provinces and Territories in Canada in 2011 (13 in total, 9 where all observe DST, 4 with parts on DST)

AlbertaMar 13 – Nov 6Northwest TerritoriesMar 13 – Nov 6Quebec (east)No DST
British Columbia (east, northeast, southeast)No DSTNova ScotiaMar 13 – Nov 6QuebecMar 13 – Nov 6
British ColumbiaMar 13 – Nov 6NunavutMar 13 – Nov 6Saskatchewan (east, west)Mar 13 – Nov 6
ManitobaMar 13 – Nov 6Ontario (northwest)No DSTSaskatchewanNo DST
New BrunswickMar 13 – Nov 6OntarioMar 13 – Nov 6YukonMar 13 – Nov 6
Newfoundland and LabradorMar 13 – Nov 6Prince Edward IslandMar 13 – Nov 6

Daylight Saving Time History in Canada

  • Canada first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1908.
  • Canada has observed DST for 110 years between 1908 and 2022 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1913.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

On July 1, 1908, the residents of Port Arthur, Ontario, today's Thunder Bay, turned their clocks forward by 1 hour to start the world's first DST period. Other locations in Canada soon followed suit. On April 23, 1914, Regina in Saskatchewan implemented DST. The cities of Winnipeg and Brandon in Manitoba did so on April 24, 1916.

DST in Canada Today

It is up to the legislation in each municipality in Canada to decide on the use of DST. As a result, there are some locations don't follow the DST schedule of their in provinces and territories. For example, while British Columbia uses DST, some locations in the province do not. These include Chetwynd, Creston, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, and Fort St. John. In Saskatchewan, it is the opposite. Most of the province does not observe DST, except for some locations, including Creighton and Denare Beach. From March 8, 2020, Yukon made DST permanent.

Since 2007, all provinces, territories, and locations in Canada using DST follow the same start and end dates as the United States.