Flag for Canada

Time Change 2013 in Canada

Next change:
1 hour Back

Nov 1, 2020, 2:00 am

Country: Canada
Abbreviations: CA, CAN
Capital: Ottawa
Time Zones: 6
Dial Code: +1

Mar 10

Forward 1 hour

Mar 10, 2013 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, March 10, 2013, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, March 10, 2013, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Mar 10, 2013 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

More info:
Sunday, March 10: Daylight Saving Time Begins in USA & Canada

Nov 3

Back 1 hour

Nov 3, 2013 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, November 3, 2013, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, November 3, 2013, 1:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Nov 3, 2013 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

More info:
USA & Canada end DST on Sunday, November 3, 2013

Other years: 2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2020

When Does DST Start and End in Canada?

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in Canada starts on the 2nd Sunday in March and ends on the 1st Sunday in November.

Which Provinces and Territories use Daylight Saving Time in 2013

Areas in Canada using DST in 2013
Areas in Canada on standard time all of 2013

Which Provinces and Territories in Canada don't use DST?

Yukon, most of Saskatchewan, some locations in Québec east of 63° westerly longitude (e.g. Blanc-Sablon), Southampton Island, and some areas in British Columbia don't use DST and stay on standard time all year. See table below.

DST in Provinces and Territories in Canada in 2013 (13 in total, 9 where all observe DST, 4 with parts on DST)

AlbertaMar 10 - Nov 3Northwest TerritoriesMar 10 - Nov 3Quebec (east)No DST
British Columbia (east, northeast, southeast)No DSTNova ScotiaMar 10 - Nov 3QuebecMar 10 - Nov 3
British ColumbiaMar 10 - Nov 3NunavutMar 10 - Nov 3Saskatchewan (east, west)Mar 10 - Nov 3
ManitobaMar 10 - Nov 3Ontario (northwest)No DSTSaskatchewanNo DST
New BrunswickMar 10 - Nov 3OntarioMar 10 - Nov 3YukonMar 10 - Nov 3
Newfoundland and LabradorMar 10 - Nov 3Prince Edward IslandMar 10 - Nov 3

Daylight Saving Time History in Canada

  • Canada first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1908.
  • Canada has observed DST for 108 years between 1908 and 2020 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1913.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics

On July 1, 1908, the residents of Port Arthur, Ontario, today's Thunder Bay, turned their clocks forward by 1 hour to start the world's first DST period. Other locations in Canada soon followed suit. On April 23, 1914, Regina in Saskatchewan implemented DST. The cities of Winnipeg and Brandon in Manitoba did so on April 24, 1916.

DST in Canada Today

It is up to the legislation in each municipality in Canada to decide on the use of DST. As a result, there are some locations don't follow the DST schedule of their in provinces and territories. For example, while British Columbia uses DST, some locations in the province do not. These include Chetwynd, Creston, Dawson Creek, Fort Nelson, and Fort St. John. In Saskatchewan, it is the opposite. Most of the province does not observe DST, except for some locations, including Creighton and Denare Beach. From March 8, 2020, Yukon made DST permanent.

Since 2007, all provinces, territories, and locations in Canada using DST follow the same start and end dates as the United States.