Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Time Change 1974 in Antarctica
Flag for Antarctica

Time Change 1974 in Antarctica

Next change:
1 hour Forward

Sep 29, 2024, 2:00 am

In some areas of Antarctica

Country: Antarctica
Abbreviations: AQ, ATA
Time Zones: 24+

Note: Only some parts of Antarctica used DST in 1974.

Nov 3

Forward 1 hour

Nov 3, 1974 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, November 3, 1974, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, November 3, 1974, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Nov 3, 1974 than the day before. There was more light in the evening and less light in the morning.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Other years: 1971 | 1972 | 1973 | 1974 | 1975 | 1976 | 1977 | 2024

Is there Daylight Saving Time in Antarctica?

Although most research stations in Antarctica lie within the Antarctic Circle where Daylight Saving Time (DST) does not make sense as a measure to conserve energy, some of them change their clocks every year to stay in sync with the countries that operate or supply them. The date of the change may also vary, depending on supply boats or flights. For this reason, Daylight Saving Time changes in Antarctica are often labeled as preliminary.

Vostok Station, for example, doesn't use DST as it is in the Antarctic Circle and experiences 24 hours of sunlight during the summer and 24 hours of darkness in the winter.

McMurdo Station, however, follows New Zealand Standard Time (NZST) during standard time and New Zealand Daylight Time (NZDT) during the DST period in New Zealand.

The Norwegian research station Troll changes between Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) during standard time, and Central European Summer Time (CEST) during the DST-period.

Casey Station changes between UTC+8 in the winter season and UTC+11 in the summer season. The Australian station's time changes line up—for the most part—with the switch to DST in Australia. So, when Tasmania sets the clocks forward one hour for DST to UTC+11, Casey set their clocks forward three hours to UTC+11.

Which States use Daylight Saving Time in 1974

Areas in Antarctica using DST in 1974
Areas in Antarctica on standard time all of 1974

DST in Locations in Antarctica in 1974 (19 Locations)

Belgrano II BaseJan 23 – May 1Marambio BaseJan 23 – May 1Rothera Research StationJan 23 – May 1
Carlini BaseJan 23 – May 1Mario Zucchelli StationNov 3 - No EndSan Martín BaseJan 23 – May 1
CaseyNo DSTMawsonNo DSTSouth PoleNov 3 - No End
Concordia StationNo DSTMcMurdoNov 3 - No EndTroll StationNo DST
DavisNo DSTNeumayer-Station IIINo DSTVostok StationNo DST
Dumont d'Urville StationNo DSTOrcadasJan 23 – May 1
Esperanza BaseJan 23 – May 1Palmer StationJan 23 – May 1

Daylight Saving Time History in Antarctica

  • Antarctica first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1930.
  • Antarctica has observed DST for 91 years between 1930 and 2024 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1973.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics