Home   News   Time Zone News   US States and DST

States in the US Consider Scrapping DST

Lawmakers in several US states have introduced bills proposing to stay on Daylight Saving Time (DST) permanently, effectively changing the state's standard time zone by 1 hour.

Update: Wyoming Bill Shut Down

The bill to keep Wyoming on standard time all year has been rejected in the the state Senate.

Update: Iowa, Washington, and New Mexico Bills

The 3 states of Iowa, Washington, and New Mexico are also considering keeping one time zone permanently and removing DST. Michigan has added an amendment to its bill.

The article is continuously updated. See below for more info.

The skyline of Providence, Rhode Island, USA.

Time may change in Providence, Rhode Island.


Lawmakers in several US states have proposed bills to get rid of the semi-annual practice of Daylight Saving Time (DST).

Massachusetts Starts Study

In Massachusetts, a legislative commission appointed by the state started their study of the effects of abolishing DST and permanently moving the state from Eastern Standard Time (EST) to Atlantic Standard Time (AST).

The study that launched this week is designed to find out which benefits, if any, can be gained from eliminating the seasonal time shifts.

Following Massachusetts' Example

The decision to look into canceling DST seems to have spurred on lawmakers in the New England states New Hampshire, Connecticut, and Maine to propose similar bills.

All 3 bills propose to eliminate DST permanently and to move the states from Eastern Standard Time (EST) to Atlantic Standard Time (AST).

A year ago Rhode Island also proposed a move to AST with the condition that it would only take effect if Massachusetts made the same move.


A bill introduced in Michigan proposes to eliminate DST and observe Eastern Standard Time (EST) statewide. A later amendment also opens for the option to keep DST all year, putting Michigan on permanent AST.

Currently, there are some locations that use Central Standard Time (CST), including Iron Mountain and Menominee.

Texas, Nebraska, and North Dakota

In Texas, a bill proposing to opt out of DST is in the legislative system. Most of the state observes Central Time (CT), while some of its westernmost counties follow Mountain Time (MT).

Also in North Dakota and Nebraska, legislative efforts are underway to abolish DST and observe CST statewide. Some locations in both North Dakota and Nebraska use MST, including Dickinson, and Scottsbluff.

Iowa, New Mexico, and Washington Bills

Lawmakers in Iowa are proposing a bill to scrap DST and keep Central Standard Time (CST) all year.

In New Mexico a bill to put the state on permanent DST has been introduced, effectively putting the state on Central Standard Time (CST) all year.

In Washington, a bill proposing to keep the state on Pacific Standard Time (PST) and remove DST is in the Senate committee.

Wisconsin and Montana Introduces Bill

Lawmakers in Wisconsin proposed a bill to eliminate DST on February 10, 2017, only to scrap it again a week later. The fact that sunset could potentially be 1 hour earlier than normal during the summer caused a social media uproar.

On February 15, Montana also added a bill to eliminate the semi-annual practice. If the bill passes the state will stay on Mountain Standard Time (MST) all year.

California Tries Again

Last fall, in California, a bill that would have allowed Californians to vote on keeping or abolishing DST made it all the way to the State Senate where it was voted down.

But, on February 15, 2017 a similar bill to keep California on DST all year was proposed again by the same Assemblyman. If the bill passes the Legislature, it will be up to California voters to make the final decision.

Past US Bills to Abolish DST

A bill that would have kept Wyoming on DST all year round and moved the state from MST to CST. However, another bill proposing to keep the state on standard time all year is still to face a vote from the same committee that rejected the first proposal. It is unclear which time zone would be used as the standard if the bill passes.

In Utah, a resolution that would have put DST on the 2018 ballot failed to get enough votes.

In Colorado, a bill seeking to exempt the state from observing DST was voted down. The lawmakers are now proposing a bill to keep Colorado on one time zone all year.

In Alaska, a proposal to remove DST has been steadily advancing in the State Legislature.

No DST in 2 States

Hawaii and most of Arizona are the only 2 US states that do not use DST.

US dependencies American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, the Northern Marina Islands, the US Minor Outlying Islands, and the US Virgin Islands do not observe DST.

DST Rules in the US

Daylight Saving Time (DST) in the USA starts on the 2nd Sunday in March and ends on the 1st Sunday in November. The current schedule was introduced in 2007 and follows the Energy Policy Act of 2005.

According to section 110 of the Act, the US Department of Transportation (DOT) governs the use of DST. The law does not affect the rights of the states and territories that choose not to observe DST.