Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Antarctica
Flag for Antarctica

Time Change 2005 in Antarctica

Next change:
1 hour Forward

Sep 26, 2021, 2:00 am

In some areas of Antarctica

Country: Antarctica
Abbreviations: AQ, ATA
Time Zones: 24+

Note: Only some parts of Antarctica used DST in 2005.

Mar 20

Back 1 hour

Mar 20, 2005 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, March 20, 2005, 3:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, March 20, 2005, 2:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Mar 20, 2005 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

Oct 2

Forward 1 hour

Oct 2, 2005 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, October 2, 2005, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, October 2, 2005, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Oct 2, 2005 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Other years: 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2021

Is there Daylight Saving Time in Antarctica?

Although most research stations in Antarctica lie within the Antarctic Circle where Daylight Saving Time (DST) does not make sense as a measure to conserve energy, some of them change their clocks every year to stay in sync with the countries that operate or supply them.

Vostok Station, for example, doesn't use DST as it is in the Antarctic Circle and experiences 24 hours of sunlight during the summer and 24 hours of darkness in the winter.

McMurdo Station, however, follows New Zealand Standard Time (NZST) during standard time and New Zealand Daylight Time (NZDT) during the DST period in New Zealand.

The Norwegian research station Troll switches between Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and Central European Summer Time (CEST), which are 2 hours apart.

DST in Locations in Antarctica in 2005 (19 Locations)

Belgrano II BaseNo DSTMarambio BaseNo DSTRothera Research StationNo DST
Carlini BaseNo DSTMario Zucchelli StationOct 2 - Mar 20San Martín BaseNo DST
CaseyNo DSTMawsonNo DSTSouth PoleOct 2 - Mar 20
Concordia StationNo DSTMcMurdoOct 2 - Mar 20Troll StationMar 1 - Nov 7
DavisNo DSTNeumayer-Station IIINo DSTVostok StationNo DST
Dumont d'Urville StationNo DSTOrcadasNo DST
Esperanza BaseNo DSTPalmer StationOct 9 - Mar 13

Daylight Saving Time History in Antarctica

  • Antarctica first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1930.
  • Antarctica has observed DST for 88 years between 1930 and 2021 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1973.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics