Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Antarctica
Flag for Antarctica

Time Change 2008 in Antarctica

Next change:
1 hour Forward

Sep 26, 2021, 2:00 am

In some areas of Antarctica

Country: Antarctica
Abbreviations: AQ, ATA
Time Zones: 24+

Note: Only some parts of Antarctica used DST in 2008.

Apr 6

Back 1 hour

Apr 6, 2008 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, April 6, 2008, 3:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, April 6, 2008, 2:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Apr 6, 2008 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

Sep 28

Forward 1 hour

Sep 28, 2008 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, September 28, 2008, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, September 28, 2008, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Sep 28, 2008 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Other years: 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2021

Is there Daylight Saving Time in Antarctica?

Although most research stations in Antarctica lie within the Antarctic Circle where Daylight Saving Time (DST) does not make sense as a measure to conserve energy, some of them change their clocks every year to stay in sync with the countries that operate or supply them.

Vostok Station, for example, doesn't use DST as it is in the Antarctic Circle and experiences 24 hours of sunlight during the summer and 24 hours of darkness in the winter.

McMurdo Station, however, follows New Zealand Standard Time (NZST) during standard time and New Zealand Daylight Time (NZDT) during the DST period in New Zealand.

The Norwegian research station Troll switches between Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) and Central European Summer Time (CEST), which are 2 hours apart.

DST in Locations in Antarctica in 2008 (19 Locations)

Belgrano II BaseNo Start - Mar 16Marambio BaseNo Start - Mar 16Rothera Research StationNo Start - Mar 16
Carlini BaseNo Start - Mar 16Mario Zucchelli StationSep 28 - Apr 6San Martín BaseNo Start - Mar 16
CaseyNo DSTMawsonNo DSTSouth PoleSep 28 - Apr 6
Concordia StationNo DSTMcMurdoSep 28 - Apr 6Troll StationMar 1 - Oct 26
DavisNo DSTNeumayer-Station IIINo DSTVostok StationNo DST
Dumont d'Urville StationNo DSTOrcadasOct 19 - Mar 16
Esperanza BaseNo Start - Mar 16Palmer StationOct 12 - Mar 30

Daylight Saving Time History in Antarctica

  • Antarctica first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1930.
  • Antarctica has observed DST for 88 years between 1930 and 2021 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1973.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics