Home   Time Zones   Time Change Dates   Antarctica
Flag for Antarctica

Time Change 2007 in Antarctica

Next change:
1 hour Back

Apr 2, 2023, 3:00 am

In some areas of Antarctica

Country: Antarctica
Abbreviations: AQ, ATA
Time Zones: 24+

Note: Only some parts of Antarctica used DST in 2007.

Mar 18

Back 1 hour

Mar 18, 2007 - Daylight Saving Time Ended

When local daylight time was about to reach
Sunday, March 18, 2007, 3:00:00 am clocks were turned backward 1 hour to
Sunday, March 18, 2007, 2:00:00 am local standard time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour earlier on Mar 18, 2007 than the day before. There was more light in the morning.

Also called Fall Back and Winter Time.

Sep 30

Forward 1 hour

Sep 30, 2007 - Daylight Saving Time Started

When local standard time was about to reach
Sunday, September 30, 2007, 2:00:00 am clocks were turned forward 1 hour to
Sunday, September 30, 2007, 3:00:00 am local daylight time instead.

Sunrise and sunset were about 1 hour later on Sep 30, 2007 than the day before. There was more light in the evening.

Also called Spring Forward, Summer Time, and Daylight Savings Time.

Other years: 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2022

Is there Daylight Saving Time in Antarctica?

Although most research stations in Antarctica lie within the Antarctic Circle where Daylight Saving Time (DST) does not make sense as a measure to conserve energy, some of them change their clocks every year to stay in sync with the countries that operate or supply them. The date of the change may also vary, depending on supply boats or flights. For this reason, Daylight Saving Time changes in Antarctica are often labeled as preliminary.

Vostok Station, for example, doesn't use DST as it is in the Antarctic Circle and experiences 24 hours of sunlight during the summer and 24 hours of darkness in the winter.

McMurdo Station, however, follows New Zealand Standard Time (NZST) during standard time and New Zealand Daylight Time (NZDT) during the DST period in New Zealand.

The Norwegian research station Troll changes between Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) during standard time, and Central European Summer Time (CEST) during the DST-period.

Casey Station changes between UTC+8 in the winter season and UTC+11 in the summer season. The Australian station's time changes line up—for the most part—with the switch to DST in Australia. So, when Tasmania sets the clocks forward one hour for DST to UTC+11, Casey set their clocks forward three hours to UTC+11.

DST in Locations in Antarctica in 2007 (19 Locations)

Belgrano II BaseDec 30 - No EndMarambio BaseDec 30 - No EndRothera Research StationDec 30 - No End
Carlini BaseDec 30 - No EndMario Zucchelli StationSep 30 – Mar 18San Martín BaseDec 30 - No End
CaseyNo DSTMawsonNo DSTSouth PoleSep 30 – Mar 18
Concordia StationNo DSTMcMurdoSep 30 – Mar 18Troll StationMar 1 – Oct 28
DavisNo DSTNeumayer-Station IIINo DSTVostok StationNo DST
Dumont d'Urville StationNo DSTOrcadasDec 30 - No End
Esperanza BaseDec 30 - No EndPalmer StationOct 14 – Mar 11

Daylight Saving Time History in Antarctica

  • Antarctica first observed Daylight Saving Time in 1930.
  • Antarctica has observed DST for 89 years between 1930 and 2022 (DST in at least one location).
  • Previous time with no Daylight Saving Time was 1973.
  • See Worldwide DST Statistics